Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Receptionist Samantha somewhat rude. Not very friendly, seemed always mad. Never smiled the whole time we were there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not enough parking....

Posted May 23, 2017
Better get there early and keep your car there. Not enough parking here for the number of rooms. Very busy street. Several cars hit and damaged on the very busy street in front including ours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phx

Rig Run

Posted May 21, 2017
Only complaint and not necessarily a complaint is the water pressure. Not sure if it was a clogged shower head or poor pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Breakfast- more options for gluten free eaters and some bananas.
Location: Close to beach and walking trails, close to nice public pool (hotel pool too small for swim).
Hotel staff very nice. Offered us upgrade to room with balcony. Lovely location. A bit noisy in evening with ball field nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Very good location, very good breakfast, very friendly stuff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento area

Best feature is the location

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The price? There is a clean, well-lit breakfast area. We had coffee and muffin on the last morning.
Cons: The exterior needs better upkeep. The lighting in the hallways could be improved, and the place itself should be repainted and the stairs kept clean.
Location: The wharf and restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel.
The worst experience with hotel reception in many years. The location is very good as it is close to the wharf. The hotel exterior is in poor condition. This is definitely a place if you are on a very tight budget. The room we were given was next to a row of small houses and it was noisy. The hotel guests were also noisy. This was a poor experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Lost&Found

Posted May 5, 2017
I got got my $65 swim wear in the bathroom and I went back to pick it up the the day after but they said they never found it. They basically kept it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location; we walked to the beach

Posted May 5, 2017
We were pleased with this hotel. Great to have an elevator to 3rd fl for luggage. It is a safe neighborhood and parking was good. If we were to come again I would ask for a balcony. Our relative stayed at Castillo Inn a buildings down and he had large patio where we did our entertaining. His was an upgraded room. Overall, we would come back to Avania for it's reasonable rate. We walked along beach area to Wharf for some dining and the drive to the Mission was easy. Must see S.B Mission and plan to spend a couple of hours there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Nice hotel close walk to harbor

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We were looking for a room downtown near State St. This hotel filled the bill. It was comfortably furnished and clean. Located well for what we wanted to do. Staff very friendly and provided breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location, parking, breakfast. Also, quiet safe neighborhood for walking at night.
Cons: Bed linens.
Location: Close to lower State Street, the beach, SBCC, and restaurants.
Great location and very reasonably priced. Two blocks to the beach and marinas. Three blocks to lower State Street and several good restaurants. A basic breakfast is included as is off street, free parking. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was accommodating and polite. Not plush but on balance acceptable.