Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
All of the staff were extremely professional, yet warm and friendly. The hotel was very clean and requests and needs were immediately addressed. It was a terrific get away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There's an ocean?

Posted Aug 26, 2015
As you enter the lobby, restaurants, coffee shops, spa, gym, and I'm guessing 90% of the rooms, you'll never know you are a stone's throw from the beautiful Pacific Ocean. The design and architecture of the property almost completely ignore the ocean and you will mostly never see it. There's nothing that can be done about that. But, I think the kitchen could manage to have fresh fruit, rather than frozen, in the fruit shakes, and regular decent oatmeal, rather than 'oatmeal brulee,' for breakfast. The food is typical for Southern California, good enough for most locals, who don't good food from bad, and substandard for anyone who's traveled abroad and understands quality food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

End of Summer Getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Always a treat to stay at Bacara. Recent updates to the rooms. Gracious staff. Plenty to do around the property- stargazing to yoga.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach has oil spills, food disappointing

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Unfortunately we had a poor experience at the resort. The food is the quality of a canteen at a beach. The restaurant reviews are consistent with 3.5. The hotel could use a better chef. The beach is got sand tars so you will get oil stuck on your feet. You will have to use chemicals to remove it s and it can take hours and not the healthies thing on the world specially for kids. The staff came off as a bit snobbish. They were not genuine in their service compared to other 5 star hotels. The resort itself is nice and well kept. We stayed at Ritz and Hyaat before and after and had a way better experience overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Beautiful with problems

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Too close to train & freeway Floors & walls not sufficiently insulated for noise - running kids in room above was constant nuisance TV worked only intermittently Beach full of tar and a bit rocky Ocean views ruined by oil rig Massage not great Trouble with getting drink & food orders right BUT, the architecture and grounds are spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The resort is gorgeous with fabulous views of the ocean. Rooms were very nice and staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encino, CA

Santa Barbara Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Wonderful and lovely staff, beautiful location.
Cons: See above
Location: Location is great - only 1 15/30 from LA. Easy to get to State Street in Santa Barbara and close to wineries.
The Bacara has been our getaway from LA for many years. We usually love it and feel relaxed and rejuvenated after our visit there. This visit wasn't the same and we think it has really changed. First - we were disappointed that it was no longer an American Express Finer Hotel with the amenities that comes with that. Second - it was 4th of July Weekend and there was nothing planned at the resort, no decorations, nothing - it was really strange. Third - the pretty bathroom terracota floors were totally stained. They need to be stripped and repolished. Fourth - there are no movie channels and no pay-per-view available. I really dont think that there is any hotel around without these amenities. We were offered DVDs to check out but the selection was horrible - like leftovers from the 80's. It was actually embarrassing for a hotel of this caliber. The staff are all lovely and professional, but the hotel really needs to get back to the 5-star level that it used to be, especially when we are paying such high prices per night! Until we hear about improvements, we will probably choose another property to escape to in the area. It is unfortunate as we really love the feel of the Bacara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Disappointed in the level of professionalism of staff for a hotel of this caliber.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from bermuda, nyc, calif

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Perfect experience from the moment we said hello at the front desk. Nice work Bacara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with old charm and elegance .

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: That it had old school charm and elegance with all the modern touches.
Location: Just about a 10 minute ride to down town Sanata Barabara near lots of restuarants and shopping.
Hotel staff from from valet parking , front desk, to gardners all very friendly. The hotel is also very pet friendly all rooms available for pets. The beach is just steps away with many walking trais . Pool and spa experience is 5 star.