Ratings based on 690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer service was sub-par.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very cozy.
Cons: the customer service experience was less than expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

For East Coasters tired of rainy days, a treat

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: The scenic bike rides and upscale shopping in Figueroa and State street.
Everything was over the the top. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, CA

Villa like experience with serenity and security.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Going mid week was an excellent decision as the resort was quiet and we got a great room for the price. It is pricey, but worth the treat. Our villa overlooked the two large pools and we got peeks of the ocean. The room was spacious, clean, nicely appointed, and very comfortable. If you are going for an special occasion, and want a treat, let the front desk as well as the restaurant know. We went for a walk on the beach one day and a short hike the next day. My husband swam in a very clean and warm pool. I loved it, and for a special occasion we would go back!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bacara was nice

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Hotel was great but there was MASSIVE construction happening around the pool. Plus hotel staff promised us things we never got. Also, lots of hidden fees...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel is fantastic .
Cons: Need to get better and more comfortable beds .
Location: Winetasting!
Great location Beautiful facilities which needs updating . For a five-star hotel the bed was not that comfortable .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Really nice place

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds
Cons: Towels near the upper pool at night (pretty minor issue)
Just stayed here to break up a drive up the coast. What a nice surprise. So many hotels seem to have great photos, but are not-so-great in reality. This place is at least as nice as the photos show it to be. Staff, from the knowledgeable bar-tenders to the waiters were excellent. Pretty decent bottle of wine was complementary in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price you pay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We had issues with a really noisy room (floors and walls must be thin) and it sounded like kids were running around above us morning, noon, and night. Not ideal for our baby moon. Maid service also didn't show up at all one day claiming our door was locked- but we were gone from the resort from noon to 8:30- so that didn't make sense. The following day they did not bring towels, toilet paper, or bottled water to which we had to call about 3 times. The spa messed up our appointments and did their best to accommodate. The staff was very nice when I brought these issues up and that treated us to a lovely dinner the final night of our stay- but in the end- was fairly disappointed given the amount of money we spent on the trip. We've stayed at the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara and I would rank That above Bacara
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not hospitable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Cons: The staff
The property is beautiful and our room was very comfortable and well appointed. However, the staff (with the exception of the pool and restaurant servers) doesn't seem to have had any sort of hospitality training. We arrived at 3:30, our room wasn't ready so we had our luggage held for us behind the front desk. When our rooms were ready around 4, we were assured our luggage was "on its way", we called several times to check on our luggage. Each time we were told our luggage was on its way. Between us we had six small children very eager to get their swim suits on and jump in the pool. Finally an hour and a half later my friend went to the front desk to find our luggage was there with the bell boys hanging out chatting. No apology was offered, the manager was "too busy" to speak. Unfortunately this event was indicative of the rest of our stay. My friend didn't have soap in her room and had to call twice to ask for it. Finally she bought her own soap. At 5:30 pm my room had not been cleaned. I had to call to ask for housekeeping to come. There were other episodes like this. It's too bad because it's a beautiful place but the new ownership has clearly not invested in training their staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ZARAGOZA (SPAIN)


Posted Aug 12, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay for a wedding!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Location: The hotel overlooks the ocean. Perfect views from our room!
I came down to Barcara for my friends wedding and it was the perfect resort to host a wedding! The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was very specious. I definitely recommend this hotel! Its a great vacation getaway!