Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Really nice place

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds
Cons: Towels near the upper pool at night (pretty minor issue)
Just stayed here to break up a drive up the coast. What a nice surprise. So many hotels seem to have great photos, but are not-so-great in reality. This place is at least as nice as the photos show it to be. Staff, from the knowledgeable bar-tenders to the waiters were excellent. Pretty decent bottle of wine was complementary in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price you pay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We had issues with a really noisy room (floors and walls must be thin) and it sounded like kids were running around above us morning, noon, and night. Not ideal for our baby moon. Maid service also didn't show up at all one day claiming our door was locked- but we were gone from the resort from noon to 8:30- so that didn't make sense. The following day they did not bring towels, toilet paper, or bottled water to which we had to call about 3 times. The spa messed up our appointments and did their best to accommodate. The staff was very nice when I brought these issues up and that treated us to a lovely dinner the final night of our stay- but in the end- was fairly disappointed given the amount of money we spent on the trip. We've stayed at the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara and I would rank That above Bacara
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not hospitable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Cons: The staff
The property is beautiful and our room was very comfortable and well appointed. However, the staff (with the exception of the pool and restaurant servers) doesn't seem to have had any sort of hospitality training. We arrived at 3:30, our room wasn't ready so we had our luggage held for us behind the front desk. When our rooms were ready around 4, we were assured our luggage was "on its way", we called several times to check on our luggage. Each time we were told our luggage was on its way. Between us we had six small children very eager to get their swim suits on and jump in the pool. Finally an hour and a half later my friend went to the front desk to find our luggage was there with the bell boys hanging out chatting. No apology was offered, the manager was "too busy" to speak. Unfortunately this event was indicative of the rest of our stay. My friend didn't have soap in her room and had to call twice to ask for it. Finally she bought her own soap. At 5:30 pm my room had not been cleaned. I had to call to ask for housekeeping to come. There were other episodes like this. It's too bad because it's a beautiful place but the new ownership has clearly not invested in training their staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ZARAGOZA (SPAIN)

LUGAR CON MUCHO ENCANTO. MERECE LA PENA

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: HOTEL MARAVILLOSO
Location: PRECIOSA UBICACION. DESAYUNO CON VISTAS
LUGAR CON MUCHO ENCANTO. MERECE LA PENA UNA PARADA ANTES DE SEGUIR HACIA SAN LUIS OBISPO. QUIZAS UN DIA MÁS HUBIERA SIDO PERFECTO
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay for a wedding!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Location: The hotel overlooks the ocean. Perfect views from our room!
I came down to Barcara for my friends wedding and it was the perfect resort to host a wedding! The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was very specious. I definitely recommend this hotel! Its a great vacation getaway!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Touch of class

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Stayed in a partial ocean view suite which was amazing. The room was comfortable, the food at Angel Oak awesome and the staff friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The grounds are amazing , the view incredible , not really a beach to lie on , more to take a walk on
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Property, Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
My family only stayed for two days, but in those two days we were able to take advantage of the delicious food and spectacular views. Also, the babysitter service was terrific, and allowed us some adult time. Every staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. We'd definitely recommend this resort to vacationers of all types.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redondo beach, CA

Great Hotel in a Beautiful Setting

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting on the bluffs above a quiet beach. Friendly attentive staff. Great pools, one that is very kid friendly.
Our family traveled up to Santa Barbara for a relaxing weekend, and we were extremely pleased. Everything about The Bacara is wonderful, from the location to the friendly attentive staff. I can't say enough about it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Overpriced little bit. Disappointed with extra charge on parking.