Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous stay all around!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Location, quiet, historic...great overall.
The food was amazing, as was the service and overall experience.
5 out of 5
by Pam from Ventura

So relaxing

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing. Staff was friendly amd attentive. Brought us ice tea as we say on the porch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We love this place!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Orbitz
It is magical and wonderful here and we have stayed several times! The 5:00pm wine and cheese, the recommendations for wine tasting, the bike riding, the comfort and quiet of the rooms, the relaxing terrace, the full breakfast included and the amazing service is all well worth the money!! Also, make a reservation at the restaurant for dinner!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great Anniversary Celebration and dinner
5 out of 5
by Richard from Santa Monica

Ballard Inn a Gem in the Santa Ynez Valley Crown

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed afternoon appetizers/wine on the peaceful and spacious veranda with the late sun peaking through the trees. Had a hearty breakfast and enjoyed the service and good humor of Christina. We enjoyed our walk to nearby Lincourt Winery & Vineyards where we picked up some Santa Rita Hills Pinot Noir which we'd had the night before at Los Olivos Wine Merchant Café where we had a wonderful pizza dinner and service and conversation with Karen. The village is a must-visit place, vintage but restored and beautifully maintained. We also visited Rideau Vineyard nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

I wanted a fresh pair of slippers!

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was completely full of patrons - because the food is sooo good.
Cons: The hor' douevres were cheese and olives and humus. I expected crudites - not sure why.
Location: Wine tasting, wine tasting, and wine tasting.
The accommodations were incredibly comfortable. There is a lovely southern style porch for relaxing and socializing outdoors. The restaurant food was amazing, and all the food was incredibly fresh. We always enjoy a takeaway of some kind, a pair of slippers, a postcard, anything. I took home a small bottle of lotion, which was a Ballard Inn private label, but no indication of the quality of what was in the bottle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

friendly inn with historical charm

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: The layout of the inn provides comfortable places to sit and enjoy the coffee and wine that the inn provides. Excellent breakfast options
Location: Quiet neighborhood, convenient location to wineries.
My husband and I were looking for a short by quiet time away near the Santa Ynez wineries. The inn provided everything we needed plus more
4 out of 5
by Donna

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wish I had known there were no elevators. Should be on website. Asked Noemi if there were rooms on the lower level and she said she would check on availability. There are 2 and both were unoccupied during our stay. She never got back to us and never offered an upgrade although she could see how I was struggling. Info about the area was available after a search but I felt staff could have been more helpful.
5 out of 5
by Cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Neil from Los Angeles

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wood burning fire place. Staff gave us tips on things to do that only locals would know about! Good quality breakfast included. We will be back.