Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax and enjoy nature. Super quiet

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The food is great. Loved everything!! The Spa is the best !!!! I took Yoga twice a week. It was wondeerfull
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Very nice hotel. 5 +. Star

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I will recommend this hotel to every body. Young couple. Family's with children the View it's very nice and the food it's six star
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

We found our paradise

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Everything! The location (beautiful hill side with great ocean view), the buildings, accommodations, restaurant - and absolute great staff.
Location: Down town Santa Barbara is only a short drive away and the hotel provides a very personal shuttle (SUV) to bring and pick you up.
This was our first time at the Belmond El Encanto - and we loved it at the first sight. The property is lovely and so are the accommodations . Little details like the monogramed letter of our last name on the neck pillow on the very comfy king size bed. The hotel staff is outstanding . We never felt more welcome the minute we arrived and throughout our stay. The food at the restaurant is very creative, delicious and well presented. All together a wonderful, very special and serene place we definitely will go back to - and even stay longer since we felt like in paradise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Oasis on the hill

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Room luxury, service
This was a perfect experience. From the staff to the upgrade at check in to the grounds to the view to the pool to the spa to the complimentary shuttle it was indeed perfect. The hotel is a good 5-10 minute drive from the SB downtown and harbor but it not inconvenient. We were with 2 other couples and all of us commented on how beautiful the property was. The property is nestled in the hills and there is fun walking around the neighborhood and to the SB Mission. I highly recommend the El Encanto.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend get away

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Cons: Staff isn't as professional as you'd expect it from a 5 star resort, seemed like the hotel just opened with a new crew.
Beautiful grounds, wonderful rooms, great restaurant, staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We stayed 4 days for my daughters graduation from UCSB. Relaxing at the hotel and dining on the terrace was a perfect break as we live such busy lives. We had an exquisite family pre-graduation dinner one evening on the terrace. It was an evening of fun, relaxation and elegance - the stuff memories are made from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach

Beautiful, Relaxing & FIVE STARS!

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Location: Downtown SB is amazing, try out all of the great restaurant offerings! The Pier is very cute and fun as well as the shopping on State Street.
My husband and I chose the Belmond for our honeymoon stay. It was absolutely incredible all week long! The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us with anything we needed the entire stay. The view from our suite was spectacular, overlooking the ocean and downtown. The overall vibe is very relaxed and the entire resort is serene and beautiful. We cannot wait to head back!
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Stella Ahn, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your recent review of Belmond El Encanto and hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara. Best regards, Stella Ahn Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Exquisite Bungalows

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Exquisite bungalows nestled in the hills of Santa Barbara. Stellar service.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Stella Ahn, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for your lovely pictures and review of Belmond El Encanto! Delighted you enjoyed your visit, our staff and service is what has made us the only Forbes Five Star Resort in Santa Barbara three years running now. I hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Stella Ahn Executive Assistant Manager