Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Family adventure

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The two room suite is perfect for families. Much better than we anticipated. A little farther out from dtsb but appreciated the quietness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Very spacious.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
There was plenty romm for my husband and me. We could easily bring the kids next time. The only thing I'd change are the louvered windows. The sounds from outside are very apparent and we had to turn up the heat to compensate for the draft.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, AUS

Large Room. Good for a family

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We were upgraded upon arrival which was nice. The suite was very large and comfortable. The décor is tired and needs upgrading. We could hear the people above us as they moved around including their conversations that went to five in the morning. The restaurant on site was great and the service was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, but needs updating

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Nice to have a kitchenette and a separate living room. Needs updated. The refrigerator was so loud it sounded like an old car on a cold day. Couch smelled a bit, like they've been around too long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Ok

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Good location. A little pricey for what you get. Just ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend get away

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very nice comfortable place to stay. Great restaurant on site, pool and spa, quiet area. About 15 min. to the beach. Lots of mice restaurants and shops on state Street, check out the pier and marina. Love Santa Barbara, would definitely stay at Encina again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Nice cozy hotel in a residential neighborhood

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The best things about this hotel were its location in a quiet residential neighborhood, its cleanliness, and its cafe.
Cons: The beds were a little uncomfortable but not unacceptable. The room was a bit chilly when we checked in, but heated up quickly.
Location: It's in a quiet residential neighborhood not too far away from the ocean. Some nearby restaurants (we went to Edamoso, a sushi restaurant).
Checked in last Friday night around 10:30. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful. There aren't a lot of restaurants open at that time of night but he was able to provide a couple of solid recommendations. The room was clean and basic. Surprisingly, the towels were thick and soft. Free parking which is always nice. The Oak Tree Cafe, which is connected to the hotel, was charming and quiet. They serve healthy breakfasts and have a kid's section in the menu. Overall a very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Lovely hotel, with great staff!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Not fancy but very clean, with quality linens. Bathroom is modern and new. TV is quite good.
Cons: Assigned parking for the rooms would be nice.
Location: Between beach and shopping.
Although this hotel is not at the beach, it's a short drive there. Also close to State street, the main drag. The restaurant on-site is amazing! There is an aviary right outside the restaurant, full of finches. The food is very good and unexpected for a Best Western. I didn't use the swimming pool but it looks good too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
great reasonably priced hotel in downtown SB (nearer to upper state). Gracious staff, great pool and very family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Lovely stay!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Flowered Wallpaper. There was no microwave in my room.
Location: We were busy the whole time at the softball fields so really didn't do much else.
We were in town for a softball tournament along with other families. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of our room. We also loved going to the restaurant/bar for both dinner and drinks. Everything was great and the bartender made excellent drinks and everyone was very friendly. The only negative comment I could make was the wall paper in my room with all the flowers was a little much but I am sure that others might love it. Anyway a great stay was had by all of us! We would completely stay here again!