Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to stay at

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Directv, cleanliness, hot water, view
Cons: better insulated walls to keep the noise down and better door handles that aren't so fussy
Location: Good location, right across the street from the La Cumbre mall
The hotel was good overall. The downsides were the bed not being super comfortable, the loudness of rooms around us and cars driving by, the door handle being very sensitive and taking 10 tries to open, the slipperyness of the tiles on the ground outside the room (it was raining during our stay). We liked having DirecTV in the room, everything was clean, the water in the shower stayed hot, and the view from our room was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 23, 2016
North of the state st., a few minutes away from the commotions but with close by shopping center and great restaurants around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, CO

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Cons: Hard to remedy, but starting about 3:30AM, travelers with rolling luggage start leaving the hotel. Disruptive to sleeping. We were on the second flo
Very convenient, centrally located. Plumbing is outdated, shower was difficult to work, and plumbing was not environmentally sensitive. On the upside, staff was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

OK place to stay in 1975

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Lower the prices to match the experience. Get rid of the mirrored walls. Paint, or re-paper the walls. Get rid of the motion sensors
Location: Santa Barbara is a beautiful area, and there are many wonderful things to do, and great restaurants.
From the time we arrived, we should have known what to expect. We went to check in, and there was a car blocking half the driveway at the registration room. After waiting nearly ten minutes so that the desk attendants could finish their personal conversation, we were checked in. This part went smoothly. When we got to our room, it took several attempts to get the door lock to read our key card. When we entered the room, it felt like we had stepped back 40 years. I haven't seen entire walls covered with mirrors since the 70's. The wallpaper was pealing off the other walls. There must have been a family convention in town, because there were yelling children somewhere. We never did see any, but we could definitely hear them. Thankfully, the kid noise quieted down around 9 PM. That's when the adult parties started, until about midnight. This hotel is not very well insulated, as we could clearly hear conversations happening in the rooms next to us. The bed in the room felt like it must have been the original mattress installed in this room. If you need to get up for a bathroom break in the middle of the night, be prepared for lights to come on, because they are all on motion sensors. On our final day there, the key cards just stopped working, I had to have them re-programmed twice just to move our things from the room to our car. This facility is badly in need of updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

very good

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Quiet and very comfortable with one of the best beds to date. Excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Very nice staff. Close to highway. Although they don't offer breakfast, their complementary coffee in the lobby are very good. And their amenities in the room are super good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very convenient location, nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Nice new appointments in rooms.
Cons: Key cards for door worked about half the time. Just an annoyance but should be fixed.
Location: Just a block from our favorite restaurant Fresco and a few more for bookstore Chaucer's. We really like the convenience of location.
Convenient to restaurants, stores, beach. Rooms have been updated and are so much nicer than when we began coming to Santa Barbara for New Year's 15 years ago. We always stay here and the stay is much nicer than it used to be. We will continue to visit the Pepper Tree.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

リピーターです

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: ショッピングモールが目の前。ダウンタウン・サンタバーバラに数分で行ける。隣接するファミリーレストランが美味しかった。
Cons: モーテルなので仕方ないが隣部屋のシャワー音がうるさい。また、駐車場が部屋の前なので早朝出発される他の客人がいれば音で起こされる。
Location: サンタバーバラを観光するなら最高の位置。SOLVANGにも約1時間と、のんびり西海岸の田舎を満喫したい人にはお薦め。
ホテル前にショッピングモールがあり非常に便利。ダウンタウン・サンタバーバラにも近く、朝食はホテルに隣接するファミリーレストランでブランチを済ませ、朝は慌てずのんびり過ごせる。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alhambra, CA

Motel Info

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Motel was close to freeway, easy to find, and on the "main drag." Small coffee shop next door was pretty convenient for breakfast purposes.
Cons: Stairs were far from our room, and forget about using the elevator at the end of the building, so you have to really think about where to park.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants within a short drive from motel. (Most not really within walking distance, however.)
Overall, a pleasant one night stay. Not a fancy place, but also not cheap by average motel standards. Fairly easy to self-park (free parking) and drive in and out during the day and night. Felt fairly safe there. No complimentary breakfast or discounts offered at their coffee shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The price was right the room size was a little small but overall it was a pleasant place to stay. We stayed in a single king bed overlooking the garden.