Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
They had room for us on short notice. Great location. Hot tub was wonderful. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown Ojai

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Quiet comfortable ease of access near family friendly staff household staff very accommodating with towels or extra blankets
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Spanish luxury

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Convenient for everything- walking, eating, sight-seeing, and a comfortable room to come back to.
Cons: The wi-fi on the end of the hotel, by the end suite, was basically non existent. You had to be outside on the patio to get a minimal signal.
Location: Great food and shopping with very nice views everywhere.
We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" and it wasn't even our honeymoon! Great room with hot tub, coffee and fridge. You even have a semi-private patio outside the front door. The staff was wonderful! Parking was convenient and located in front. There's no real need to drive much once there, as the hotel is located in town with sidewalks to strole and or shop in this Spanish-art-deco town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Definitely Coming Back!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Chantico is a charming boutique hotel in Ojai! It was beautiful with the pool-side painted murals, glass-stained windows and sunflower tiles. The staff was super helpful and shout out to Debbie, who rocks and called me when she found that I left my ID in my room and shipped it to me before I moved out of state!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Front desk, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brandy from Orange County

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The Chantico Inn was clean, I think I actually prefer tile floor now because you can tell that it is clean unlike carpet. The staff was friendly and steered us in the right direction when it came to finding restaurants and hiking trails. The stained glass throughout the Inn is amazing. It is located on a busy thoroughfare so just be prepared for morning traffic. There is a bookstore and market within walking distance so that was helpful and convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the décor. It's nice that you were able to check out Barts Books.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Great location, clean on the outside and very nice pool area
Cons: The rooms need a very good cleaning. Several repairs are needed. Wood blind, drawers bottoms had holes you could see through and needed paint badly.
Location: Close to restaurants and shops
Our stay started out without being able to check in. We were running ahead of schedule so we called for an early check-in and told no problem we can check in at 2pm. We arrived at 145pm and the office was locked with a sticky note on the window stating they would be back at 130pm. We left and came back at 215, 245 and 310. Still nobody there. So we waited with another guest until 325pm when someone finally showed up. She was very nice but that doesn't fix the fact we were inconvenienced. The outside of the hotel was very clean but thats where it ended. The room was very outdated and dirty. It was in serious need of paint and a deep cleaning. I was having problems logging into the WiFi so went down to the office and what a surprise, no one there. Went back to the office on our way to dinner and was told to bring my ipad to the office log in there and I should be good to go. Not so much. Apparently our room was to far from the router so the WiFi didn't work. So we come back later that evening and there were ants in my drink cup and I saw a couple of pincher bugs and ants in the bathroom. But no one to tell because guess what, no one in the office again. Well we wake up at 730am the next morning and figure we will get a bite to eat at the provided continental breakfast before heading out. Supposed to start at 7am but as usual the office was locked and no one home. Went back at 810 am and was able to get some pastries and cereal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We try to accommodate everyone and unfortunately we failed with your stay.