Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Cozy and romantic getaway in the heart of town!

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Easy and safe uptown location - walkable to everything. Comfort, quiet and coziness.
Stayed at the Cheshire Cat - in our home town! My second time here - first was 25 years ago trying to decide whether to move to Santa Barbara. It's been updated since and well maintained - and still oozes romance and comfort. Delightful and accomodating staff and cozy and very comfortable, romantic room. Loved the light and location. Walkable to everything. Privacy and beautiful patio/gardens in the back yard. We weren't able to stay for breakfast, but it looked delicious.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Lovely rooms & staff, yummy breakfasts

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Fix the jets in the tub.
Location: Within walking distance of everything.
The Cheshire Cat Inn was lovely. Beautiful location, comfortable rooms, great wine (they served local Santa Barbara wine) and cheese, tasty breakfasts and all this within walking distance of the center of Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
by Stefanie

False Advertisement

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had a huge (almost two inch) gap under our door. The photos shows a jetted tub in the room but it isn't there. We were under the assumption that the jetted tub was part of our room which is actually the reason we decided to book here. Bed is quite soft as we prefer a firmer mattress. More for matured or older couple. Great theme for the hotel, decent breakfast but very disappointed that the jetted tub isn't available.
5 out of 5
by Nancy


Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
The Cheshire Cat Inn was very charming, with beautiful public spaces and garden. The room was spotlessly clean, with delicious cookies awaiting us. The wine and cheese hour and the breakfast were pleasant, but there was nothing special about them.
5 out of 5
by Susan

A Night Out

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was easy. Room was beautiful. People were very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Beautiful b&b in a lovely city

Posted Oct 1, 2017
A great b&b - the rooms are exceptional, clean, super comfortable and in our opinion the best Inn we have stayed in in the US which is renowned for quality inns, Great touches include the wine and canapés at 5pm and wonderful breakfasts served in a magical garden setting,
4 out of 5
by Scott

Cute, quiet, would stay again

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The inn was incredible. Very cute and well done rose garden. You could tell the lady serving breakfast really liked what she was doing. She came up to us, asked if we wanted a fritata (or whatever was being served hot that day), with a huge smile I'm her face. Great service. Only complaint was the bed was LOUD. Couldn't get up without waking my wife up and the pillows were fairly old and flat. Otherwise would stay again honestly, just hope some bed issues get replaced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017
Dear Scott, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding our breakfast, staff and gardens. Equally important is your feedback regarding the bed and pillows which we will review immediately and update accordingly. We would love for you visit us again next time you're in Santa Barbara. Warm regards, Andrea Dunstan GUEST RELATIONS
5 out of 5
by Katie

Favorite spot to stay in SB

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Cheshire Cat Inn is our favorite place to stay in the Santa Barbara area. Beautiful room, delicious breakfast in the morning in the beautifully landscaped patio area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels