Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected from Embassy Suites

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful, but the facilities need major renovation. The building has the wear and look of a tired apartment building in the hood. The entryway is sparsely decorated and non inviting, the pool and jacuzzi were dirty, and the bathroom light/fan combo was so loud I dreaded turning it on at night. The breakfast was just okay. My experience was a far cry from other Embassy Suite stays I've had recently.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review and for your positive comments about the staff. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards. Please note that we have just completed a multi-million dollar renovation in March 2017. I am sorry you did not like the look of the hotel and that you have a poor opinion. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us. Again, I am sorry we let you down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We did not stay at this hotel due to infestation of cockroaches. Manager was nice enough to give a full refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry that your stay was not a positive one. Good to hear that you were given a full refund. Please know that in addition to our Engineering Team and inspectors who triple inspect each room every day, a professional pest control company is here monthly to provide preventive maintenance and service to our guest suites and the entire hotel. We have inspected the room you stayed in and we found the room to be negative for any pest activity. We thank you for your feedback. We will share this comment with our entire so we can be more proactive and remain on top of our game all the time. Thank you again for your review and I am sorry that your stay was not a positive one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel, will definitely stay there again

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Room was extremely comfortable, clean with lots of room
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope you'll return soon. Safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Reliable

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts served by Sonny
Cons: The person who checked us in this time was annoying.
Location: Great place to visit wine country.
We have stayed here several times and it is always a good experience, especially the way Sonny serves you breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and the bed exceptionable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and modern rooms

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Nice and clean modern rooms close to numerous restaurants and eating options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1st Stay in Lompoc

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Clean and lots of shopping around if needed.
Cons: I like a Shower head with a handle to move when needed. These are Fixed. You also need to stand in the water Stream when turning the shower on. Cold
Location: We went to Solvang just a 20 Minute drive away. Great experience
Great Hotel, nice Amenities, Typical Drinks in the Evening and Breakfast in the morning. I do wish they had some hot items during the Evening Drinks Session verses just Carrots, Celery, dip, Chips and Pretzels . On This Visit they also provide a Bee Swarm High up in the Palm Tree outside our Patio Door. Lots of Bees to view. There was not Danger to any one as they were located 25 feet in the Air on the Trunk of tree.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent 'first stay' experience here at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Lompoc! So sorry to hear about the bees. Looked like they also felt so welcomed here so they checked in/out for a weekend getaway! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and thank you again for taking the time to review our property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls

Decent Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Not to the standards we are use to for a Hilton It was kind of an outdoor but indoor access Rain was on the walkway to the lobby so it was hard to stay dry Staff amazing!!! That's what made it decent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us. I want to personally apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason, it becomes a top concern for all of us. The concerns you expressed are not acceptable to us and I'm sorry you did not like 'California-style outdoor look' but we thank you for recognizing our amazing staff. We love having you here so please come back. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Standard chain hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Decent room sizes. Walkable to few food places. If you are not Hilton honors then take your own water bottle otherwise it will cost you. Good spread drinks in happy hour. Terrible breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserved during your recent stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lompoc

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cold, rainy, and windy weekend. You have to walk out in the cold to get to your room. Happy hour was horrible. Nachos with horrible cheese sauce. The lobby is like a Motel 6. Not warm and inviting. Very stingy with lotions and body washes in the room. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We're so sorry that your experience with us was less than stellar. Embassy Suites by Hilton is committed to providing our guests with an exceptional experience - one best reason why we just recently completed a full renovation. The hotel now has a more modern look. Sorry if you didn't like the design and that the bad weather timing was not right. I hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back.Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate that you chose us for your stay in Lompoc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Cons: Pricing could be little more competitive for the property
My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in February 2017. We chose this hotel as we wanted something cheaper close to Solvang. The layout of the rooms is pretty weird with bathroom sink outside the actual bathroom. The walls are pretty thin and we could hear people talking out on the road as our room was next to one of the parking lots. I would definitely avoid this hotel for its price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Golda, GM, Hotel Management
Your conviction to be our guest in the future is the highest level of rating we can hope for but it seemed like that is not even the case; and that makes us extremely sad. Our team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. We are sorry that the design of our suites is not in par with your design preferences. We hope it will not be before your travel plans bring you back to Lompoc. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back as a guest.