Ratings based on 1,906 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: It had on site small wine bar and restaurant
Cons: The bathroom wall corners by the tub/shower were moody and falling apart
Location: Good location
Got there an hour early and of course room not ready. Front desk staff young and not too professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the shops but noise is filtered

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The hotel is pleasant and accessible. It was just a short walk from the shops along a busy street in Solvang. The amenities are updated. The restroom is clean and bed mattress was comfortable. What I did not enjoy though were that there were ants inside my room and on my bed. I woke up one morning with ant bites on my face. The staff were nice and accommodating at breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mediocre

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Basically a it's a travel lodge; all rooms have exterior doors. I reserved two rooms. At check in, one of the room cards did not work and had to revisit the front desk for remedy. The shower in one of the rooms didn't work. I didn't realize it until I tried to shower in the morning before departure. I requested a rate adjustment at check-out and was offered $25 discount; settled on $50 just to move on. Didn't try the complementary breakfast. This property is conveniently located and appeared clean. In the future I would probably try Holiday Inn Express.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Nice clean rooms . very comfy bed. Enjoyed our stay tremendously. Would pass next time on the Chumash casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very comfortable. Great complementary breakfast, attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Central hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Good location, only I was feeling that I was in motel (hotel).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Edge of Solvang

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: It is hard to walk on the ground floor as each set of rooms is cut-off from others by plants. It is easiest to walk in the parking lot.
A pleasant room, but in a loud neighborhood. It is right before the first light in Solvang so cars are slowing from 55 to 25 mph.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Great accommodations, complementary Breakfast, indoor pool, close walk to town and excellent locale for entry, exit.
Cons: We were intimidated by all the hidden fees in the reservation system through Expedia. The Hotel told me that there were far worse ones out there.
Our stay at the Hadsten House was excellent. Great accommodations, complementary Breakfast, indoor pool, close walk to town and excellent locale for entry, exit. What I was really shocked by was the Expedia Reservations. I was shown a great price of about $139 per night. Then upon selection, was told there were no more Queen beds available and so the price jumped. Then there was hotel taxes and "added hidden fees", raising the price to some $212 dollars per night. It was so nice to find a really nice place only to end up feeling like you just don't need to take another vacation only to be taken advantage of by some hidden reservation system.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Great potential

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Nicely arranged and roomy.
Cons: Maintenance. Change A/C filters regularly.
Location: Solvang, a nice Danish village. Also near good wineries.
With one notable exception, this hotel was above average. The exception. When I walked into the room and my wife turned on the air conditioner, I almost immediately had a significant respiratory allergy episode. At first I thought it was just the drive of the day. But when I walked outside and stayed for a while, the allergies subsided. Then I lifted the cover on the air conditioning unit in my room. The filter was filthy. It was so dirty that it couldn't even allow a full flow of air. The staff of this hotel would greatly increase the comfort and health of their customers, plus they would likely save electricity for the hotel, if they would routinely change those filters. Too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Comfortable hotel but don't bother with breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We had 2 rooms for a family of each with 2 queen beds on the ground floor. The rooms were large and well equipped with fridge etc and overall were very comfortable . Pool etc was nice. Area is pretty but expensive - our 2 rooms were just under $600 but in fairness that's par for the course here. My main quibble was with the " free"breakfast which was poor - tables not laid, paper cups, no juice or soy milk ( met with a very terse no when asked if they had any) in a sour smelling and dark room. The hotel overall was good but don't factor the breakfast into your decision making !