Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean-Generous-Beautiful

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We stayed here with our kids on a road trip from Northern California to San Diego and really enjoyed this clean, fresh, well-run hotel. The pool was warmed to the perfect temperature, crystal-clean, with a lovely patio, jacuzzi, and mountain view in the background. The hotel appears very newly built and sparkling clean. Room sizes, pillows, bed quality, coffee quality, and continental-plus breakfast quality were generous. It is still a continental breakfast with paper/plastic dishes and lower quality fare than a restaurant, but on the other hand care is taken not to skimp: brand-name quality items are provided (coffee is fresh and tasty; chobani yogurt; Quaker oatmeal with healthy toppings like nuts, raisins, and honey; fruit; pancake machine was very entertaining for our kids too). The staff worked hard to keep up with stocking all of the items. Overall a very good value for the moderate price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cupertino CA

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very comfortable and convenient place. 15-20min nice drive to Santa Barbara. I would stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Quiet hotel, but no hot water

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Hotel room was big. However walks are paper thin and no hot water for showers in the morning. Could hear conversation going on next door through wall. Had to turn on fan for white noise to drown it out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel near downtown & beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great price, location, quality, etc. staff is less than engaging and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice facility but noisy.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Facility was very clean and mostly remodeled. Continental breakfast was good and snacks were low priced. The room door was very heavy but we could hear people in the hallway loud and clear. We could also hear the people in the next room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Very nice like all of the other holiday inn express and suites; very consistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice room

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: It was convenient for our planned trip...clean and had a pleasing aesthetic.
We were on our way up north along the coast, so our stay was only one night...but the place was clean and the breakfast good...Would stay again if we ever come this way again We used their order in room service (from an off-site restaurant) and it was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring break

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The room was comfortable, just a little bit tight. It was really hard to walk on the far side of the bed nearest the wall. Nice location though- so close to the beach - and the kids loved the pool/spa area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Comfy
Great staff. Large room. Woke up late and missed check out time. Staff happily extend check out time slightly so that I can pack.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I called about 1:00pm to see if I could check in an hour early, I wasn't given a definite answer, so I showed up at 2:00. The front desk staff said the maid was still cleaning the room and it would be ready in an hour. At 3:00pm, the check-in time, the room still wasn't cleaned. We had to wait an additional 20 minutes for the room to be ready. It seems to me that they were aware I wanted to check in earlier (by 1:00pm) and could have made more of an effort to get the room cleaned, at least by 3pm. Then, the receptionist didn't program the keys, causing me to go to my room, try them, then have to come back to the front desk. It was aggravating. Everything else was fine... breakfast, cleanliness, etc.