Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
We just happened to get a room where the main water pipe drains so you can hear water moving in the pipes throughout the day. Strangely quite loud. It's obviously only this room. Otherwise the hotel was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is sorry to hear you experienced a disturbance during your stay, but we are glad you had a good stay with us overall. We're always happy to give our guests a new room if they request it and if another room is available. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, CA

Great Location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location, clean room, comfy beds
Cons: It's a nice, mid-range hotel. Would be nice if it had a pool or jacuzzi
Location: right off State Street, great location!
Hotel is in a great location, clean room, comfortable beds and nice porch to relax and enjoy mountain views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is glad you liked our prime locale, clean room, comfortable bed, and relaxing balcony. Although we do not have a pool on-site, there is one available a short walk away that is complimentary for our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted May 19, 2017
After a long flight and drive from LAX, the hotel was a wonderful respite. The check-in was brief, and staff was very helpful in finding our way around town. Hotel is right downtown within walking distance of restaurants and the beach - no need for the car. Our room was clean and well decorated, with lots of hot water to soothe sore muscles.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are glad to hear our hotel was a comfortable solution after a long day of travel. Our team is delighted you enjoyed your stay due to our prime locale and clean room; we hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Great hotel, close to everything

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Located just off State street, walk to beach, pier, shops, restaurants. Staff was nice, helpful and knowledgeable about area. Room was lovely. Only got in the car to go to the mission, because it was too close to closing time to walk. Hotel is right on street, so there is some noise from traffic in street facing rooms, but its not terrible and you can ask for rooms facing the back. We enjoyed the street view and its not a late night town, so we weren't kept awake by it. Take your breakfast up on the patio, its a nice area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Social Media Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are thrilled that you liked our prime downtown Santa Barbara locale in walking distance to nightlife, restaurants, shops, and the beach. We're also glad you liked our friendly staff, your room, and our complimentary hot breakfast. Our team hopes to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great base to explore Santa Barbara

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Good location- friendly staff
I only had one night here but check-in was a breeze and the room spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Social Media Assistant , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are thrilled you had a great one-night stay with us due to our prime downtown Santa Barbara location, friendly staff, and comfortable room. Our team hopes to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, ca

Great location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great spot, mini vacation, close to restaurants, bars, shopping, beach. Very clean, comfortable... will definitely choose again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Douglas Anderson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are thrilled you liked our hotel due to its prime downtown Santa Barbara locale, clean interior, and comfortable features. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Anniversary getaway

Posted Mar 31, 2017
My husband and I traveled to Santa Barbara to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We live in Los Angeles, so it was just a quick weekend trip. Our only plans were to go wine tasting, have one celebratory dinner and to walk the area. So a hotel that was situated in the middle of downtown was what we wanted, and the Holiday Inn Express did not disappoint. We were close to downtown as well as the pier and were able to walk to our hearts content. The hotel staff gave us restaurant ideas for our meal and directions for our walk. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Social Media Assistant , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are thrilled you had a great stay and wedding anniversary due to our convenient downtown Santa Barbara locale. Our team hopes to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Nice hotel with plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is happy to hear you liked our prime downtown Santa Barbara locale with its close proximity to restaurants, nightlife, and the beach. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great hotel for the price!

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel that is very clean and well maintained!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and five-star rating. We are thrilled you found our hotel to be a great value in addition to finding it clean, lovely, and well maintained. Our team hopes to welcome you back for a future stay.
4 out of 5
by Hans Joachim

Clean, convenient but bad parking arrangement

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The only big disappointment was, that there is limited parking available. So in the morning, your car will be blocked by other cars, which are parked in the driveway. So you will need to wait a while, until the cars have been moved by the front desk staff. Besides of that, you'll need to leave your keys at the front desk, which in my opinion is a security issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is sorry to hear you did not like our parking arrangement. We strive to give all our guests long-term on-site parking, as downtown parking is often hard to find, which means that sometimes our lot gets full. For our guests' convenience, we have a complimentary valet service to alleviate any parking stress. Our guests' security is of the utmost importance to us, so we take great care over who has access to the keys left with us. We are glad you found our hotel clean and convenient and hope to welcome you back for a future stay.