Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel with much to offer

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: I liked the fact that there was a balcony, from which you could sit and relax and enjoy the country.
Cons: There was only one handicapped parking place in the underground area. It might help to have another.
Location: It is within a short walk to central shopping area of Solvang. You can almost smell the pastry bakeries from there..
The hotel staff very helpful. I rented three rooms, one being a room for a wheelchair bound child. There was lots of room and the bed exceptionally comfortable. In one of the rooms, the shower would not activate when the plunger was pulled up. The occupant did not tell anyone until we left. Based on the attitude I had seen from other staff members, I am confident that if he had said something, the issue would have been rectified immediately. It did have a pool and hot tub. We did not take advantage of it, but it appeared clean and well cared for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, WA

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location and value.
Cons: It is showing its age, and is in need of renovations
Location: Solvang is a fun little town, with lots of restaurants, shops and tasting rooms for the region's wine makers.
This property is well past its prime, so don't expect it to be bright, shiny and new. The location is great, it is a good value in this tourist-oriented town, and the staff was VERY accommodating. We had trouble with a toilet that was not working properly. After notifying the desk, a maintenance person addressed the issue, but the problem returned. Desk promptly moved is to a new, upgraded room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great customer service and Spacious!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The Service was excellent, the attendant was very helpful and accomodating, the room was spacious. overall great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsburg, Ca

Close to everything

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Everything except the bed.
Cons: Firmer matresses.
Location: Very close to shop and stores.
Very nice hotel, on the west side of town, but close to everything. Room was very clean, great breakfast, one of the best ones we have on any of our trips. One complaint, bed was to soft, other than that we give it a 4+ plus rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Express Hotels. This one is dated and needs a face-lift. Kinda shabby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Loud

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We were checked in an hour late. You can hear the next door activity. Swimming pool not well keep, my oldest ended up cleaning/ picking up the debris in the pool falling from a tree nearby so that her sisters won't get scared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I loved the two stories room. My grandkids were excited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside CA

Hotel is in a great location.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean room and complimentary breakfast.
Location: On the west edge of town, it was a quiet location. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
The Holiday Inn Express is located on the edge of town but within walking distance of all that Solvang has to offer. We went to celebrate my birthday and had a great time shopping in the unique shops and dining at the local restaurants. The only meal we did not eat out was breakfast because the hotel offered a full breakfast, which was delicious! We will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Excellent choice

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Walking distance to Solvang so a car wasn't needed. 2nd floor room was great for view of the main street and town. Free breakfast made it convenient to start the day quickly. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Nice but Noisy

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location is GREAT!
Cons: Sound proof window in room 333.
Room 333 faces the street so it can be very loud when cars are passing by. They actually left ear plugs in our room. I thought it was a mistake but it is necessary if you are a light sleeper. We came in at 2pm to check in but they told us our room wasn't ready yet and to come back at 3pm. We came back at 4pm and checked it easily. When we arrived in our room three used white paper sheets were on the floor of our room. Not exactly what we want to walk into.