Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and Amtrak

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Close to Amtrak station and beach...3 blocks from downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Amanda , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback and are happy to see you enjoyed our central location. We encourage traveling by train and hope to welcome you back in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with unique style

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with great style. Only downside is missing elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Knowledable about the area.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I found it a great location and a friendly staff....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our prime location and helpful staff. We take great pride in providing the best service for our guests. Hopefully you had a chance to explore our vibrant neighborhood and soak in the warm Santa Barbara air. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

small room, but enough for one person

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
small room, you may have to open your luggage on your bed. the walls are thin, so you will hear the street traffic at night. friendly staff, nice location if you are taking the train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for leaving us a review! Since we are a boutique hotel, our rooms are smaller by nature. However, this is why we employ several space-saving techniques in order to make sure guests feel comfortable. As for the noise, we provide all guests with complimentary ear plugs as well as access to our Dohm sleep machines. Hopefully these factors do not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Thanks again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - Rooms are a bit tiny

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. Our room was small. Not much room for suitcases! The bathroom was very small as the shower and toilet are separated by a glass door that swings out in front of the toilet. Very efficient, but we got a chuckle out of it. We had a nice little patio which we liked. The hotel location made it easy to walk to the pier and also the shops and restaurants on State St. I would not recommend this hotel for families based on the size of the rooms. It's better suited for one or two guests per room. Overall, the hotel is nice, just be prepared for the small space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since we are a boutique hotel, our rooms are smaller by nature. But this is why we implement several space-saving techniques, such as the convertible shower you mentioned, in order to make sure that guests feel comfortable and cozy. Hopefully you had a chance to relax on your garden patio and enjoy the fresh Santa Barbara air. Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Providene, USA

Hotel Indigo

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Not great with children. No mini fridge or elevator. Difficult with stroller/luggage/baby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Amanda, Hotel Management
Dear cat, Thanks for leaving us a review! Although we don't have an elevator, we do have a luggage lift and our front desk staff would be more than happy to assist you to your room. We would also be willing and able to hold any baby food or milk in our staff fridge for you. All you have to do is ask our front desk! Once again, thanks for the feedback. We truly appreciate it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Hotel indigo

Posted Oct 23, 2016
When we arrived wth all of our luggage, stroller and child we were told there was no elevator and no room on the first floor. When we got to the room there was no fridge or space for a pack and play. Every time we returned to the hotel with a sleeping child we needed to wake her, get her from her stroller with all our things and I had to carry her whilst pregnant up stairs to get to our room. Incredibly inconvenient. Not having a fridge for our babies food and milk was also pretty bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way better hotel choices nearby

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
I knew booking this hotel we were paying a high price for the location, but it wasn't worth it in the end. PROs: The hotel is clean, modern and nicely decorated with local artists. Front desk was very friendly. CONS: The room size is listed on hotels.com so we knew what we were getting into but the bathroom layout had me so upset. The shower and toilet share the same space, with a pivoting glass door to keep water from coating the toilet during your shower. It felt like it was modeled after an airplane bathroom. Germaphobes beware! - Rooms are packed together like sardines and have THIN walls. We could hear our neighbors *fooling around* all night the first evening. -Valet parking only and NO street parking anywhere. - Train station nearby, you can heard the horn blowing starting as early as 6am every morning. - Free bikes were rusty and desperately needed tune ups. They were hard to ride. - The closest beach is the pier which we didn't realize. Dirty sand and water. No one was in the water. We drove to another beach, defeating the purpose of choosing this hotel. On a final note ,while driving around SB, I saw a lot of the other cheaper hotels I had considered while booking this trip and wished I had booked those. They were in better locations, quieter with prettier beaches nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review! We truly appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay to it's full extent. Our mission is to make sure that all of our guests feel one hundred percent comfortable throughout their stay and have a chance to explore some of the best parts of Santa Barbara, steps from our front door. Since we are a boutique hotel, our rooms are smaller by nature. It is through our specific space-saving techniques, such as our convertible showers, that we are able to provide guests with a bit more flexibility and comfort. If noise is ever an issue for any reason, we make sure to provide all of our guests with complimentary ear plugs as well as access to our Dohm sleep machines. Our front desk staff would be more than happy to accommodate you with this. Hopefully you had a chance to enjoy some of our other amenities including the outdoor terraces, art library, and fitness studio! Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that these factors do not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for leaving us a great rating! We truly appreciate it.