Ratings based on 3,184 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced ocean-front boutique hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach
Cons: The hotel management should be able to add individual AC systems for the guests.
Location: Channel islands (water sports, nature walk, etc.) and Santa Ynez wineries
I lived in Santa Barbara for a number of years and made my journey back to enjoy the beautiful place again. The staff at the Milo were generally knowledgeable on the local activities, but I felt that the young staff can definitely learn more about what Santa Barbara can offer besides wine-tasting. The room did not have AC and can be quite stifling. I suppose converting a historic building can be a challenge. However, you cannot beat the proximity to the beach and delightful breakfast at this price point in Santa Barbara. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

New find!

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Fabulous location, modern rooms, clean, and friendly staff. Thoughtful details throughout.
Cons: Free parking. $30 seems a lot when the hotel is already quite expensive.
Location: Close to everything. Beach and bike path right across the road! Funk Zone just a few blocks away.
We were happily surprised. Nice, modern decor and spacious grounds. Seems a lot of thought has been put into this hotel. Staff made us very welcome, gave us a great room. Overall made our wonderful Santa Barbara trip even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great location in downtown Santa Barbara

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Loved borrowing the free bikes and the nice outdoor seating area outside our room over looking the ocean.
Cons: Shower instead of a tight fit bath tub and door that you end up hitting your elbows on when showering.
Location: Great location to stroll or cycle the waterfront and enjoy the restaurants. Also close to the highway for convenience of travel.
Nice and central location to attractions. Vey walkable to State street , Stearns Wharf, Marina. Enjoyed a visit to the Botanical Garden as well as an enjoyable cycling ride along the ocean trail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty hotel w/ convenient location poorly staffed

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location is walking distance, or a short drive to state street
Cons: STAFF, rooms being ready when they're supposed to, forgetting to call people when room is ready
Location: harbor, wharf, state street
Check in time was 4pm, so my husband and I timed our trip so we would arrive after 4, then would go get ready for dinner. It was also our anniversary, so we made dinner reservations that night. We arrived shortly after 4 to check in, walked to the desk where there were 5 sad looking faces standing at the counter, and were told that the room was not ready, but they would call us when it was. We went outside and sat at a table with some of the other guests. Eventually everybody's room was ready but ours. We checked again, then decided to walk to the harbor, then down the beach, on the wharf, checked out some shops and still no call to tell us our room was ready. So finally at 6, at the time of our dinner reservation, we go back to talk to the front desk, angry now... and she says, "oh whoops, heres your room key". WHAT?! We missed our dinner reservation, have been walking around aimlessly for well over an hour and our room had been ready for a while?! We were not happy. When we got to our room, there were a few hairs on our bedding that made me uneasy, and the tv did not work. Our upgraded OCEAN VIEW room was located directly above the pool where everybody is extremely loud until they have to stop being loud at 10pm. So don't expect any relaxation by the ocean. The only thing we liked about this hotel was the location... very disappointed in the staff, and how unapologetic, and unaccommodating they were when we missed our dinner reservation on their error.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great clean hotel across from beach, near restaura

Posted May 2, 2017
Beautiful views, great place across from beach. Wonderful staff. Great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good

Posted May 2, 2017
Overall this place is very good. Pros: -The staff were very nice and accommodating. -They have great amenities such as a workout room, free bike rental, free wine tasting, and pools. -It is right across the street from the ocean with nothing blocking the view. -You are about 2 blocks from the pier and about a half to three-quarters of a mile away from all bars and restaurants you would want to go to. Very easy to walk to everything. -The room was very clean and in great condition. The cons: -There are no A/C systems in the rooms, just a fan by the window. The fan worked great and there was no issues with the temperature getting to hot, but you have to leave the window and curtain open which allows people walking by to see and hear you. -There are no balcony for the rooms(except the suites), the ocean view is out the window next to the door. -Required to Valet- no self parking and $30 charge a night. When you are paying around $400+ a night before fees for an old motel, which was kept up very well, you would think you would not also be required to pay that much to park there. Overall good, but the price doesn't match what you get out of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serene, Peaceful, and Friendly!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The Milo Hotel is a lovely hotel. It's located in a beautiful beach front location that is close to everything. The staff is friendly and helpful. We borrowed the free bikes to ride around town. They gave us complimentary water bottles to go with the bikes, and we convenientlly put in the bike's baskets. We had a wonderful time riding along the beach, and all over town. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've had at a hotel. We've stayed in many hotels in Santa Barbara, and we will definitely be back to the Hotel Milo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown and the harbor. You could walk most places.
Cons: Could possibly use air conditioning so that you don't have to open your window letting in a lot of street noise or clients who like to go to bed after
Location: On the beach and fairly close to downtown. Very convenient.
A nice comfy hotel. It was a charming hotel. I enjoyed everything about it except as noted below. The room was comfortable plus the outdoor sofas and chairs were inviting, and used. Being right across the street from the beach was great plus being close to downtown, as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Train getaway

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: The bathrooms were dated and the carpeting was worn.
Location: It was close to everything.
The hotel is on a premier site across from the beach and pier and within walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect relaxing getaway!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Absolute pleasure! Loved the patio seating all through out the hotel. Just take a seat and enjoy the view from all around the grounds. Loved the wood floors in the rooms. I felt like I was in a cottage full of character. Very clean and well kept. Will definitely go again. The breakfast was a plus! The staff was extremely courteous. Just what we needed. Walking distance to everywhere you need to go in Santa Barbara