Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location! Loved it.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Fun fun 2 night stay. Walked to warf and all around town. Only hiccup was a very loud, rude drunk guest yelling in hallway at 1am, and hotel staff didn't kick her out, which they should have. But, everything else was fabulous!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great location on State street, but building is oldear and it does show.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely would recommend!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
If you plan on spending most of your time out of the hotel enjoying all that Santa Barbara has to offer this is the perfect place to stay. The location is perfect. The rooms is quiet. The bed fine. The continental breakfast is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for the price

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: excellent location, reasonable price, free breakfast, modern room
Location: There are a ton of great places to shop, eat, go to wine tastings, and see music and art- not to mention the beach!
This was the lowest-priced hotel I found in the area for comparable location and quality. The locations was absolutely perfect- walking distance from downtown, the Funk Zone, and the beach. The room was pretty small, but not cramped. Plus, it was nice and modern- probably recently redone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Wedding

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The staff, very helpful and polite; location.
Cons: See the above.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurant. On the weekends, art and crafts at the beach area. It is also a stop for Amtrak which some of our family used.
We were in Santa Barbara for a wedding at the Courthouse and reception at Casa Blanco Mexican Rest. By staying at the Hotel Santa Barbara, we could walk to everything we needed. It was also close to the beach area activities. The room was small and only one bed available for two adults. First day there were no glasses in the room but bottle water was furnished. Being a little handicapped, I found the safety bar in the tub was not adequate. Once you were wet, the safety bar was also wet making your hand slip. Totally useless if you were to fall. Also, if you were standing in the tub for a shower and slipped you would not be able to reach the safety bar. Another safety bar should be installed on the side wall in the middle. I have fell in such tubs so I look out of things like this. I found the bed very comfortable along with the linens. I did enjoy the hotel and would go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Arrived around 11:30 on the train. The room wasn't ready but they got us in around 3:00pm and they upgraded us to a junior suite #217. I think they felt sorry for us as we just couldn't walk around anymore and planted ourselves in the lobby! The gentleman who upgraded us was wonderful. There was a younger man that we talked to about the room around 1:00 that said "you know we're not really obligated to check you in until 4 pm". I think he was just inexperienced in speaking with customers. They serve a delicious iced tea in the lobby and my husband said the breakfast was good. Overall a great experience. Beautiful old hotel, nice linens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Great, clean, comforting hotel in heart of downtown Santa Barbara. Valet parking. Free breakfast. Great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice ..

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Nice hotel..great location.. I only with the windows opened
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right in the centre

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast.
Cons: Curtains just about closed, so better curtains would be good.
Location: Beach is 5 mins away, Toma restaurant is great but not cheapest and you should reserve in advance.
Classy if aging-a-bit hotel on the Main Street and 5 mins walk from beach. So great location. Some days there is a farmers market literally on the doorstep. They have a complimentary continental-style help-yourself breakfast in the foyer, which is a nice touch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good location, nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2016
Overall, this was a very nice hotel. The staff is top notch and the hotel is very nice inside. You can tell the building is older but kept in very nice condition. The staff is extremely helpful - everyone from the front desk to the valet are great people. Some of the best I've come across in the hotel industry. However, the hotel is lacking in some areas... For one, there isn't a fitness room and if you inquire, they have a "partnership" with a nearby gym which costs $10/day extra. Also, the rooms are a lot smaller than I would've thought. I was traveling solo so I can't imagine how cramped it could be with two people. The rooms are in good condition and very clean though. To sum it up, this is a nice hotel with a couple lacking factors but if you're traveling alone and don't need a fitness room this is a great option.