Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E. Honolulu, Hawaii

Downtown location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Great location for shopping and walking - excellent for mature guests who will enjoy the charm of 1930's! Perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Ashley Llamas, Hotel Management
Mike, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as the location and charm of Hotel Santa Barbara. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Regards, Ashley Llamas Sales Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Good close to the ocean. Nice walk I was gone most of the time for a Birthday celebration. Only at the hotel on Sunday morning. So that's all I have. Sorry
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Ashley Llamas Sales Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback; we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Convenient downtown location on State Street

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Location: Large walking mall two blocks away and historic buildings all around abundant amount of wine tasting places.
Walking distance to shopping and dinning in historic downtown Santa Barbara. There is a trolley that will take you Sterns Wharf.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Ashley Llamas, Hotel Management
We are so glad you liked the location of Hotel Santa Barbara and were able to take advantage of all the wonderful shopping and dinning we have nearby. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Happy Holidays, Ashley Llamas Sales Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, Washington

Cool Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Love the Spanish architecture of this building. Its an old building but it has lots of character and its very well kept.
Cons: The elevator is so old that when it was working I was afraid to use it out of fear that I would get stuck in it.
Location: There are many shops and places to eat within walking distance from the hotel. The beach is a short trolley ride away.
I really like this hotel. Its very nice for a three star rated hotel. They have done a great job in keeping the old character of this hotel and updating it with modern amenities. My room was small but it was very clean and relaxing. I recommend this hotel to anyone except for those who have difficulties walking up or down concrete stairs. The elevator was out of order when I arrived so I had to walk up four flights of stairs with a huge suitcase. The staff was very friendly. I loved the Christmas tree that was in the lobby. It was huge, beautiful and a real tree! This hotel is better than some four star hotels I have stayed in. I would definitely stay at Hotel Santa Barbara again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Ashley Llamas, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kinds words, we love the Christmas tree too! We are glad you enjoyed the location and services we offer. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Happy Holidays, Ashley Llamas Sales Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Rooms were comfortable and the staff friendly & helpful. The hotel is right on state st and close to everything Santa Barbara has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Charming urban ambience

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The architecture and design scheme and comfort
Location: Lots of restaurants, shopping, the wharf and Santa Barbara's attractions very accessible.
I loved this hotel, it was cozy, private, safe, and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff makes it great!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: This hotel is in a great location. It is easily walkable to all the shops and restaurants on State St. It is a short distance to the waterfront. The staff is outstanding! They were so friendly and service was prompt. The manager was ever so accommodating. The lobby is lovely. This is a wonderful place to stay.
Cons: The continental breakfast was just fair. Everything else was top rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado springs, United States of America

Extremely nice staff! Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The location, if you wold like to be in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara is tremendous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from germany

excellent location plenty of ambience

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness, ambience, cleanliness.
Cons: Breakfast, but I know it is the norm. More fresh, non processed, non sugar offerings? (Salads, plain oatmeal/ fresh fruit and yogurt for topping)
Location: see above
Excellent location. Smooth check in, friendly, helpful staff. Lovely lobby area. Given a clean quiet, upstairs room with view of State Street below. Due to double windows, nice and quiet. Room temperature regulates easily. Clean bath with lots of amenities and good water pressure. Soft, fluffy robes to lounge in, comfy bed. Came in on Amtrak. There is an electric shuttle every 15 minutes from the Harbor/Amtrak area, (25 cents for seniors), but it is also an easy 10 minute walk if you have little luggage. I avoid sugar and processed foods, so breakfast for me was slim; fresh fruit and a hard boiled egg, but that is the usual free breakfast offered at Stateside hotels. I was there on a Tuesday and they had a wonderful Farmer's Market right outside the the hotel along State Street. Many, many delicious and healthy cafes and restaurants choices along State Street, as well as cinemas, theater venues and museums within walking distance of hotel, also shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Very nice hotel right in town, great for walking to shops, restaurants, etc. Nice staff. Overall good stay.