Ratings based on 1,183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arcadia, CA

Not a 4-star hotel at all

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The hotel has 4 buildings but they are all separated. I stayed at the one which resides on the opposite side of the street. Room is small and not clean. The building is surrounded by streets. It is very noisy if the Windows are opened. Pricey valet parking. $28 for overnight parking. It is not mentioned and listed on the Web page. Very disappointed and will not come back at all.........
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking a moment to share this review with us. Please accept our apologies that you found your room to be unclean. This is unacceptable, and had we been notified this would have been corrected immediately. Please know that this review has been shared with housekeeping leadership who will take immediate action. Our valet pricing is listed on our website under the parking link and again on the confirmation email, our goal is to be very transparent with pricing so that our guests can make an informed decision in where to stay while in Santa Barbara. Also, our valet parking rates are very competitive with surrounding full service hotels. We do hope that you had a wonderful time in the city and hope that you will return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
This hotel needs a complete renovation. I was surprised that it is a Hyatt Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice. Close to the beach.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Convenient and close to water and an event we were attending
It was a bit pricey for what was a traditional hotel room. But close to the water and pleasant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area.

Disappointing Expedia deal and hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The bed was OK.
Cons: A lot.
Location: Not relevant to my stay.
I booked a hidden Expedia deal at this hotel and am disappointed by both the supposed 'deal' and the quality of the hotel. The hidden deal was for a 4 star ocean front hotel in Santa Barbara, which I ended paying quite a lot for, on a non refundable basis. Basically, there is no way this is a 4 star hotel and subsequently reading the reviews of other guests (of course I could not read them before paying) it seems that I am not alone in this assessment. It is a motel-style establishment with very average 3 star quality rooms and even though the hotel is close to the seafront, you cannot actually see the ocean unless you walk down to the sidewalk to the Marbella restaurant, and even then it is hardly a good view. The hotel has a high mandatory valet parking fee and keeps the parking lot cordoned off and locked, the practical impact of which, was that I had to carry my own bags to the furthermost room from reception on a damp and cold evening, as there was no way to drive my car and park it outside my room (the one redeeming quality of a motel!). The mini bars were empty, there was no room service indeed nothing to warrant the 4 star rating at all. I don't mind taking a gamble on one of the deals but I expect that upfront, non-refundable payment to be rewarded with an actual deal. I could have paid a lot less for an identical or better room in Santa Barbara that night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Average hotel, way overpriced!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
We stood at the Hyatt Centric last Saturday night for 1 night. The room is completely average, not any more special than a Best Western. For $530/night I'd say it is a rip off, especially because it was not even a room with a view. We had a view of the parking lot. The hotel property is entirely average, like I mentioned no nicer than a Best Western. The only plus is its location, which is beachfront. For this price, would not ever stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, CA

Great view

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location to the beach
I was in main building - great view and patio upstairs but over the pool - loud and noisy till after 10 pm and the street noise was awful! Pillows on a king bed were standard - not what I expect from Hyatt. Restaurant was ok - great bar Staff was amazing -
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pleasant, helpful staff. Lovely room. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Hotel was very clean staff was very nice and polite and extremely helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not even 3 stars it's like motel 6

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We got three rooms, All the rooms smells sewage. Uncomfortable beds. Dirty towels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queensland, australia

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel. Had to wait for room to be cleaned and we arrived at 5pm.