Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
across the street is the beach! a couple miles from the pier. a couple miles from State Street. nice rooms too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Santa Barbara East Beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This hotel was ok, but for the price I don't recommend it. It is not a 4 star. Expedia was also difficult and would not assist with a change stating it was "the last room booked" at the same time the hotel was showing open rooms. Expedia was also showing open rooms. I won't used Expedia any longer from this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Good Day, we appreciate hearing your review regarding your Expedia experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, very old

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very old hotel. New carpet but everything else was old including linens. Pool attendants spent more time letting in their personal friends to enjoy the pool and bar. This hotel is more like a Motel 6 and 28.00 a day to park. The only perk is the location. The pool area was less then to be desired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much for recognizing our pool, restaurant food, and food service at the pool. Please accept our apologies for the length of time it took for a call back regarding your lost and found items. We are taking a look at this process and making improvements to ensure that it goes as smooth as possible for future guests. Thank you for your feedback on the carpets as well, and know that we have been deep cleaning as many as possible on a daily basis and will continue until all have been completed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel met vriendelijk personeel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Prima hotel, heel leuk personeel( receptie en hotelbar)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Good location.... Tired hotel... Needs updating

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I picked up the phone to call room service for additional towel and the phone was so dirty I got nauseated
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We hope that this was addressed immediately for you and thank you for bringing our attention to the cleanliness of the phone now as well. Your experience has been shared with the leadership of our housekeeping department and we do expect a more consistent focus on all guest touch points. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Spanish charm in great lication

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We had 2 rooms, ocean view double, and king and both were very comfortable and clean. The decor and ambiance of the hotel completely suites the relaxed beach front vibe so prevalent in Sarta Barbara. All hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. We opted to park on the street everyday as spots were available. Will definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Walk to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Staff is very nice and accommodating. Nice to have food service at the pool.
Cons: Hotel needs renovating. Feels dirty even though rooms are cleaned nicely everyday.
Location: Beach and zoo are within walking distance. It is a short drive to Santa Barbara's main shopping and restaurant area.
Street parking is difficult. Overnight parking at hotel is $28 a day! Walking to beach is easy. Short drive to restaurants and shops. Hotel itself need upgrading.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so very much for taking the time to acknowledge our fantastic staff as well as the food service at the pool, we are thrilled that you enjoyed both. We have completed 2 phases of renovations so far with 29 guestrooms, the pool bar, dining room and lobby. Please know that we too are patiently awaiting the next phases of the renovation that will address the remaining guest rooms and guest hallways. We look forward to welcoming you back upon completion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Only OK

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Pool Service. Nice people working there.
Cons: Carpets need a good cleaning. Furniture needs replacing. Looks old and worn. Rooms need decorating. Hard to get callback re items left by acciden
Location: Walking distance to zoo and beach.
Location is outstanding. The hotel itself needs to have the carpets in the rooms and in the hallways cleaned. I gave my son a bath and after walking around our room for about a half an hour, his feet were black. Furniture in our room looked chipped and old. Needed some decorating. Pool is small with nothing special about it. There were not enough lounges on Sunday for everyone who wanted one. Firepit is nice. We made smores. Restaurant has good food but a small menu. It was nice to have dining services at the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Good day and thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our pool service staff, we agree that they are a fantastic part of our team. Please know that we are in the process of methodically deep cleaning and extracting the carpets in the guest rooms. A challenge in completing this at this time of year is our high occupancy and the length of time that it takes for the carpeting to fully dry and be ready for guest use. Challenge aside, we are making great progress in getting many carpets completed on a daily basis. Thank you again for your wonderful constructive feedback and we are looking forward to your return visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Historic hotel, outdated rooms, beautiful view

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Upon check-in, staff noted we had a newly renovated room. While we had a large balcony with a beautiful view the room was dusty and very musty. The room was also fairly small but I had more appreciation for this Upon learning it is a historic building. We cleaned the A/C filter and opened the sliding glass door to air out which made it smell a bit better. Looked like the bathroom may have been updated in past 5 years and was clean. I also appreciated the clean shelf under the sink to place my items on. The furniture in the room was well-worn with many scratches and evidence of wear & tear. Nice linens but not same quality of mattresses and pillows as other high end hotels. Dead plants on the patios but furnished with basic patio furniture. The sliders on the pool cafe menu are with a visit. The pool was clean and had lots of lounging space. Also a gas fire pit next to the pool in the eve. Staff mostly helpful and friendly but not super on top of it. Failed to add our requested second night on and we got locked out of our room without warning. So overall, Hyatt Centric is in a beautiful historic building with a perfect location next to the ocean, but it's out-of-date rooms greatly made me question the value of this hotel - glad we found a deal instead of paying full price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Chris, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for providing such a thorough review of your stay and we are thrilled that you were happy overall with your experience here. We hope that your time spent in Santa Barbara provided for many fantastic memories and we are looking forward to your return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manteca, ca.

Will be staying there again.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Beautiful scenario ocean view. Walking to beach across street was a great experience.