Ratings based on 1,351 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location to the beach.
Cons: Our room was not ready at 4:00. There were a lot of people waiting for their rooms
You may have to walk a little since there are multiple buildings up and down the street. Parking is a bit tough also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Tired

Posted May 18, 2017
Staff is friendly but hotel is a little tired/dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking a moment to recognize our friendly staff, we agree that they are a fantastic team and we are very fortunate to have them. Be assured that our hotel is in the planning stages of a full renovation and we are looking forward to displaying a beautiful new property to all our future guests..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Overbooked so we got placed elsewhere

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel was overbooked so they placed us into another building of their hotel, the Santa Barbara House, that was not beach front and was a 3-5 minute walk to the main hotel. This defeats the purpose of booking a beach front hotel. The gave us free breakfast vouchers, but that was not worth the difference in booking this hotel versus another one. The Santa Barbara house faced a parking lot and soccer/baseball field where it seemed that some homeless residents reside. It seemed like overbooking was their general policy or the Santa Barbara House wouldn't have been full. Otherwise, the main hotel location is directly across the street from the beach, which is where you want to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Across the street from the beach

Posted May 15, 2017
Staff is VERY friendly. Good restaurant and bar next to the pool. Maid service every other day-had to rely on pool towels. Cool history. Original building built in 1938.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles, CA

Great experience!

Posted May 15, 2017
It was a first time visiting Santa Barbara , I'm so glad we stay at the Hyatt . Can't wait to come back with the family .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

Terrible hotel in USA

Posted May 7, 2017
The worst hotel, the worst cleaning and service . We stay there for 1 week nobody clean a room, just changed a towels... in front desk no milk, only cream.. for parking you have to pay extra... breakfast not included... in restaurant service was very bad. After paying bill for breakfast in cash we got a question: are you guys waiting a change??? The worst hotel!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate that you shared your experiences with us. I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced while staying with us. Your feedback is very important and has been shared with our leadership team for them to assess the options accordingly. We do hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara and hope for your return to show you the true hospitality of our property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westlake Village, CA

Needs a facelift

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Cons: This hotel needs a major face lift. It is so old and run down. Needs a complete make over!!!
Location: The beach across the street and the Santa Barbara Zoo is right there.
The room was not ready, when it was ready they put us near an elevator and an ice machine. We then had to wait to be moved to another building, near an ice machine. The hotel is very old and run down. For the money we spent, it would have been nice to have a decent shower. The food offerings left a lot to be desired. We were going to have dinner in the restaurant, but they offered only two main courses. Overall I felt like we over paid for what we received.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a minute to leave this feedback for us, we greatly appreciate it. I am very sorry to hear of your impression of the hotel and property.I have shared your feedback with our management team to assess better options in these areas accordingly. We have recently completed renovations to our bar and lobby area and plan to refresh the rest of the hotel very soon. We appreciate your stay and do hope for your return s you can experience our new look.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This hotel was great! good location, the breakfast was included and it was very good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice view,nice place , the hotel is safe ,Easy access to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Location was excellent. It was super close to the pier and harbor. We took our bikes and were within minutes to all the restaurants and tasting rooms.