Ratings based on 1,125 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Older facilities but we'll maintained and updated. Nice stay and walkable to beachfront amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Inn by the Harbor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and appreciate the 5-stars. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again. Warm regards ~ William McNally, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price. Cute hotel in a pinch.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Great little hotel. Slightly overpriced for being next to a loud bar that plays Mexican music until 10pm. The room smelled musty and old, but was clean. The hotel staff was super friendly and very helpful. Would not stay there again simply for the price. But otherwise, it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings Michaela, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, but feel terrible that an event held at the Historic Carriage Museum caused you discomfort. We know you have many hotels to chose from when visiting Santa Barbara, so our hotel team works diligently to provide the best service possible and a comfortable and relaxing ambiance. Please know that we will discuss this matter with the museum management. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff and incredible place to stay!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Wonderful staff and incredible place to stay! Look forward to staying there in our next trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for this lovely review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn by the Harbor and look forward to serving you again. Warm regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollister, CA

Great location-walking distance to State Street!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Wonderful girl's get-away weekend. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Continental breakfast, wine and cheese in the afternoon and homemade cookies every night was just wonderful! Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings Barb, Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn by the Harbor. We are happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your Girls Get-A-Way Weekend with us. We appreciate your recognition of our amazing hotel team. We are fortunate to have team of Super Stars! We hope you visit us again soon. Best wishes ~ William McNally, Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

good for the price.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
This place is a cheep hotel. That being said it's older kinda noisy and close to a main road rooms have a smell of unknown origin ... However they are remodeling rooms and did offer us a "VIP" upgrade including a free champagne bottle and two glasses and some fresh hot cookies.. both where Devine after a long days travel... so in short it's a good place for cheep but if your looking for a elegant stay I'd move on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings Harvey, I am sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we are updating and refreshing our guestrooms ito offer the best experience for our guests. We know you have many hotels to chose from when visiting Santa Barbara, we we are disappointed to hear we didn't meet your expectations. Pease accept our sincerest apologies. Respectfully, Greg Broussard, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The breakfast area needs improvement.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Price and Location near Granada Theatre
Cons: Breakfast area needs to be moved to the patio,near pool area away from street and enlarged Better food.
Breakfast area too small. We had to eat outside and the weather was very cold and windy. The food was not as expected and not displayed in an attractive way. It was like Motel 6 . The room was very ,comfortable for us as we have a disability and we would like to use the kitchen but were not told about that at all. We were surprised. The Inn is on a very busy street which we did not like at all especially as the view from breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings from the Inn by the Harbor. I am sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Respectfully ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. But the hotel is old and overpriced. I think much better and nicer accommodation is available in Santa Barbara for that price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
I am terribly sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with your recent stay with us. We know you have many hotel to choose from when visiting Santa Barbara so it is important to us that we offer you the best service possible with a relaxing and comfortable ambiance. Please accept our sincerest apologies for lot meeting your expectations. Greg Broussard, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slo

Great service

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I wasn't expecting much given it was an inexpensive 3 star but the service was second to none. Complimentary wine happy hour, plenty of snacks and activities for the kids. I even left a couple items behind and they offered to mail them to me, which never happens. Frank and the staff were awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings Brian, Thank you for choosing the Inn by the Harbor. We are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your experience with other travelers. Thank you for recognizing our team member, Frank. He is one of our amazing hotel Super Stars that takes great pride in treating each of our guests as VIP personal friends. We look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with good accomadations

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Hotel has many accomodations that include; wine and cheese, free dvd rental, free bike rental, close approximation to the beach, good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn by the Harbor. It is great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and took advantage of the many amenities we offer. We hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great hotel- so happy we pick this one!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Free room upgrade, bike rental, wine and cheese reception, milk and cookie reception, breakfast
Location: Location is awesome- again you can bike or walk to Stearns Warf or the beach. Downtown was not far as well.
I had never been to Santa Barbara before this trip and picked Inn By The Harbor based off other Expedia reviews. It was an excellent stay, we wish we could have stayed here longer! Check in was easy and there was a wine and cheese reception during our check in. We went in the middle of the week, so the hotel was very quiet. The weather was nice enough for us to take advantage of the outdoor hot tub. Also the staff gave us a free room upgrade (we didn't even ask for it!) I'm assuming because it was quiet. There was also a milk and cookies reception from 8pm-10pm. The next day we rented the free bikes that come with your room stay and went for a lovely morning bike ride. It was so easy to bike to Stearns Wharf and downtown SB from the hotel. There's a great bike path not far from the hotel that will take you along the beach as well. Breakfast which was included was also great. Thanks for a great experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Greetings from Santa Barbara, Cecilia! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to our special little beach community and enjoyed your stay at the Inn by the Harbor. We are fortunate to have a wonderful hotel team who takes great pride in offering the best service possible. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travelers. Should you return to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again at the Inn by the Harbor. Warm regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager