Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach, CA

Great boutique hotel.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Love the record players and available albums.
Right sized to provide a great experience - comfortable rooms, nice bar and restaurant, and great staff. I had a beautiful view of the mountains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Robert , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

So so

Posted Jan 22, 2017
No free breakfast. Beds too soft. Heater sounded like 747. Cold floors in winter. No carpets. No toilet in gym. Pool under renovation. But overall clean. Ok service. Too expensive for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Robert , Hotel Management
Paul, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland. We have forwarded your comments to our engineering department to correct the heater issue. We hope to see you back in the summer when the pool is open. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Maybe on a lovely warm evening it would be fine but the heating system in room was unsatisfactory and staff could not adjust it in spite of attempts, room phone did not work. Had to walk to desk for service--had desk hang ups when using cell phone to contact desk. No elevator. All rooms are directly accessed from out of doors. No comfortable seating in room. Poor lighting and floor plan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Robert , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. Sorry to hear of the service issues you experienced during your stay and we will be sure to get them corrected immediately. Rest assured we will get these items corrected and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockville

Loud air conditioning

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Couldn't get a decent sleep and woke up by very very louder airconditioner
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Robert , Hotel Management
Eric, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. We will be sure to have the engineering team take care of the air conditioning unit. Rest assured we will get this corrected and hope to see you back in the New Year. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Thanksgiving Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Beds and convenience
Cons: Better water pressure
Location: n/a...we did T-giving in Santa Barbara....seven miles away and a quick trip via 101
Great and lots of amenities, if you're looking for them. The beds were heavenly....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Robert , Hotel Management
Robert, Glad you joined us for the Thanksgiving holiday and we will be sure to share your comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fun hotel in Goleta

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I particularly liked the clean minimalist decor in the rooms and the breakfast torts.
Location: It's a short drive to UCSB and an even shorter one to Goleta State Beach. Walking distance to other restaurants and Trader Joe's.
Goodland is very comfortable yet hip option for visitors to Santa Barbara. Kimpton took an older motel and created a clean lined, retro surf ambiance. At first I was taken aback by the lack of a room coffee maker, but I really enjoyed the great coffee and breakfast in the airy light filled bar much more. It was a friendly way to start the day. I hear that the bar is quite a party on the weekends and that the restaurant is very good. I didn't get a chance to try either. My room was very quiet and the bed super comfortable. The pool area is nice and the garden area lush. This would be a great place to book a group who are going to a wedding or other celebration. The young staff is excellent and very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Robert , Hotel Management
Susan, Thank you for the review from your recent visit and we agree the hotel is hip. The location makes it great for visiting UCSB, Downtown Santa Barbara and wine country. We look forward to seeing you back and enjoying the Outpost Restaurant. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This is one of the nicest hotels I've been too

Posted Nov 16, 2016
I travel a lot and this was just the cutest hotel. The room was delightful, the staff was great. Considering it's right next to the SBA airport it was quiet. Sunday nights they have a band. Just can't say enough good things
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Robert , Hotel Management
Alana, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more we are a cute hotel. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best in SB

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Dog Friendly...very accommodating for dogs, even provided bowls and sleeping beds (for small dogs). Very cool place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review from your recent visit and we are a cool place to stay. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Unique Hotel Theme

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The hotel had a unique coastal, beach décor with lots of rope, tapestries and raw wood furniture that gives a little driftwood feel. Then they have the records, with 1950's and 60's style record players in each room with LP vinyl records. Nice fire pits and restaurant area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Robert , Hotel Management
Jim Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and couldn't agree more we have a coastal vibe. We will be sure to share you review with our team and we look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great vibe and thin walls!!

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Second stay at The Goodland. Nice staff, cool bar, fire pits, and overall awesome vibe. It is definitely a millennial hangout, especially the pool, restaurant and bar. We arrived to a "ramen" food festival at the pool and Banana Republic photo shoot on the property...lots of fun people watching. We upgraded our room this time to a larger suite, first floor w/ patio right off the pool and near the restaurant and fire pits...not a great idea if you want quiet before midnight. The other downside, thinnest walls of any hotel I have ever stayed in. We could hear the neighbors conversation in the shower, every footstep from upstairs and kids waking at the crack of dawn. Comfy beds, but not a great nights sleep. Next visit will request room in back of hotel on second floor for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and we couldn't agree more about the vibe. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. Sorry to hear about the noise issues during your stay we will be sure to share with our engineering team to see what can be done. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager