Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Hollywood, CA

Clean motel in walking distance of all of Solvang

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The room was exceptionally clean, with the nice touch of 2 chairs to go with the two beds. Convenient location for all Solvang activities.
Cons: Mention the microwave and fridge! We were pleasantly surprised to find them but I could see some passing on the motel if they need these amenities.
Location: Danish history if interested; the area is also a very good wine producing region with many vintners. Antiques, quant Los Olivos and Lake Cachuma.
The motel is in the center of Solvang, so you can walk to wine shops, Danish themed stores and restaurants and several pleasant parks. There's a good bookstore in town along with a couple of nice wine bars and now several brew pubs. Compared with even 5 years ago, Solvang now has a modest night life, with several venues offering music. Nearby Buellton has a few more wineries along with a new brewery and you're just a short distance from Los Olivos with (yep) yet more wineries and a couple terrific restaurants. Santa Maria is 1/2 hour away and you're within an hour of the "Beach cities" and the Edna Valley (more wine) region. More antiques and a nice walk around experience in Arroyo Grande, the first beach city and gateway to the Edna Valley. You're also within 2 hours of San Luis Obispo, a great college town with a terrific downtown area, river walk and a lot of night life. In the other direction, you're about an hour from Santa Barbara. SLO is also (I believe) the closest commercial airport with commuter sized planes coming in. Solvang is safe and family friendly, but there are no theme parks or anything like that. In some respects, the area has become more an adult destination, particularly if you're into wine and some good food. Contrary to some reviews, we didn't find it noisy. Other guests were courteous and wound it up by 10:00 PM. All rooms face a pool/hot tub so I suppose you might have problems with late partying guests, but that didn't happen in our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Center of town

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Easy walking to anywhere in the town. Lots to do and see. Casino just up the road about 3 miles. Great place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location, but otherwise just ok

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Their location is perfect, right in the middle of town.
Cons: Rooms are a little dated, would have been nice to have a fridge in the room
Location: The town of Solvang was beautiful and a very nice place to visit for a couple of day.
We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the central location, the room itself was very basic, with no fridge or microwave. It was clean enough but pretty outdated, although it was quiet for sleeping. The pastries in the morning were delicious but if they would have included some yogurt it would have been at least a little healthier. Not a bad place to stay but could use some TLC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two Star Hotel in Solvang

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Room was adequate, though there was significant traffic noise when sleeping with open windows.
Cons: Advertise breakfast items as variable, depending on the hunger of prior guests or the mood of the hotel management.
My husband, son and I stayed at the hotel during our recent drive along highway 1 along the California coast. The hotel was conveniently located, the room was adequate and the price, which included free breakfast, parking and internet access looked right. The staff member who greeted us at check-in was friendly and told us about the great continental breakfast which included Danish pastries to be served until 10 am. When we showed up at 9:30 am, there were exactly 1 Danish, 2 Muffins, dark Danish bread, butter, apple jelly and grape jelly left. My husband took the Danish, my son one muffin, but since there were other people lined up after me, I decided not to take the very last attractive item and son and husband gracefully shared their prey with me. I did not see any other items typically found at a continental breakfast, such as different sorts of breads or bagels, cereal, yoghurt or fruit. We did not complain during breakfast, but when asked at the checkout about our stay, I said that the room was fine, but that breakfast was a little bit sparse. Instead of an apology or at least an explanation, I was informed that a note posted in our room should have informed us that breakfast is served "while supplies last," and that next time I should get up earlier. Clearly both conditions were not part of my contract with the hotel. And I was certainly not pleased learning that the hotel management chose to blame their guests instead of their own lack of planning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington State

centrally located hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the room layout.
Cons: I am not a pastry fan so having pastrie and coffee aare not my idea of breakfast. I am in a Scandanavian town so think I am the odd one out .
We had a good time in Solvang. The hotel was in the middle of it all. We had the town performance center down the street, a brewery, bakery and wine and chocolate retail shops all over the place. The bads were good and it was quiet after 10 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but very noisy.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: It was clean. The shower seemed to be updated.
Cons: The beds need to be replaced but overall it was an okay experience for the age of the motel.
Location: This hotel is withing walking distance to everything in Solvang. No need to move the car once you park.
The room was clean but the bed was very uncomfortable. The location of the hotel is the greatest asset they offer. I would not bother with the breakfast unless you like toast. However there are so many great places to eat a fabulous breakfast in the area so it was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Small room, very simple breakfast, nowhere to sit. Location is good thouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We loved that we didn't have to drive because the hotel was close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Great location, excellent price and very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Pets

Posted Jul 21, 2015
A "strict 'no pets' policy--even though they advertize as "pet friendly" on Expedia. Otherwise, the clean was clean and well maintained.