Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Such a beautiful space with excellent access to the town and to the beach! We can wait to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from naples fl

great location But

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Location
The room was too small for two people especially if staying more than 1 night. What we coukdnt figure how was how to cool the room. Or why it was hot in the first place since it was a very cool night. The room had an AC but it had a green light when the unit was on that shines right down on you keeping us awake. So we turned it off and turned on ceiling fan and opened the window. The freeway and train noise was unbelievable so around 3 am turned AC back on. A fitful night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Beautiful room
Cons: Breakfast space was very small and choices were limited.
The room very very spacious and well appointed. The hotel staff was wonderful. The complimentary breakfast was sparse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Nice helpful staff. Rooms & bathrooms are small.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: More seating for breakfast. Remove room 302 from the inventory.
Nice helpful staff. Rooms & bathrooms are small, but hey this is an old hotel. Be warned, room 302 is directly under the hotels AC unit and it shakes and rumbles very loudly. We requested a different room and that room 328, was much quieter. I've noticed that when I book with expedia, the hotels give you the crappy rooms. The hotels breakfast was disappointing because they have very limited seating and so you have to wait for a table to open up before you can be seated. We ended up taking our food and eating in the hotel lobby. Not exactly what I would call a 4 star experience. Interesting that Charlie Chaplin built the hotel. Location is ok with several restaurants within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PLEASANTON, CA

TOOOOO SMALL FOR THE PRICE

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: LOCATION
ROOM AND ESPECIALLY THE BATHROOM WERE EXTREMELY SMALL. FRONT DESK STAFF WERE GREAT, THE REST NOT.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Charming

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Wish I could have stayed more than a night. Stayed here the night prior to driving back to LA
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, friendly place

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room, lovely vibe, great location.
Cons: See above
Would return in a heartbeat -- the only thing is, the vents in the bathroom connect with the adjoining room's, so you can hear everything. Would recommend patching that up!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Everything was great. Good food and wine. Staff was incredible from the breakfast staff and especially the valets. Wonderful location to the beach, area attractions , music academy of the west and close to specialty shopping. We hope to be back soon and the montecito inn will be our first choice. Incredible place to ho got a vacation or business trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

More than inexpected

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Great hotel. Very well maintained and excellent staff. Charming hotel with a bit of history (Charlie Chaplin) The room was very comfortable and well maintained. We were on the second floor over the entry where our door led to an outside walkway. My only issue, but not that big a deal, was the street noise. I wish the door had a better seal to keep out noise. Also, the AC in the room was noisy when the fan was set about 'low'.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Disappointing, to say the least.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We stayed for two nights, Saturday and Sunday. There was no room service available whatsoever during our entire stay, despite being included in the list of amenities. Very basic, clean room, tiny bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel, nor would I return for a second visit.