Ratings based on 1,088 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Hotel, Clean, Updated, Near Beach

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, Friendly staff, updated
Cons: Bathrooms were very compact and could be updated more
Location: Perfect location near butterfly beach, Four seasons, and heart of downtown Montecito
We stayed here for my birthday trip to SB, and absolutely loved the hotel. It is older (but well renovated) and smaller than most downtown SB hotels. Thats what we loved about it. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were so clean. The bed was really comfortable, and the linens high quality. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Montecito, which has great shops, restaurants, and an easy 5-10 min walk to the beautiful butterfly beach (my favorite!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington/BKK

First time in Montecito Inn.

Posted May 25, 2017
My first time staying at Montecito Inn from 04/30/17-05/01/17. Friendly staffs. Room was very nice and clean. I got the nice mountain view room. The hotel has charm of the original design of Charlie Chaplin. They gave me free valet parking since I'm a gold member of Expedia. Location is excellent, that I could walk to beautiful Butterfly beach in the morning and very close to cafes/restaurants/convenient store/cute shopping areas in Montecito. Definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint and Comfy Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, Comfort and amenities
Location: Located near great restaurants
Situated outside of Santa Barbara, the Montecito Inn provided a comfortable and convenient stay. Although the room my wife and I stayed in was a tad smaller than expected, the room has a contemporary feel and was very comfortable. We also enjoyed the amenities that the Montecito Inn offered including a continental breakfast items and complimentary bicycles to ride along the beach. The other great thing about the Montecito Inn is it's proximity to great dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Nice hotel in Montecito area of Santa Barbara.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Room should have a desk. Bathrooms were small and need more shelf space.
Location: Close to Santa Barbara beaches.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, poor room location

Posted May 20, 2017
The Hotel itself was amazing! Our room was on ground floor on the corner of the building. Our view was of the intersection and street sign. The one time I did open the curtains I got to watch a man let he is dog do his business on the grass, then not pick it up. If we were staying more than one night we would have requested different room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Super staff; great access to nice beach and stores/restaurants
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The pool water it's to cool and the jacuzzi dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Charming hotel with European feel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the authentic elegance and charm. Felt like a European hotel.
Cons: Replace the pre-wrapped pastries with fresh baked. Offer free parking as well as valet.
Location: Short drive to Santa Barbara. On the edge of downtown Montecito. Close to the highway.
There were some exceptional characteristics of this hotel, although it was dated. It had a unique charm by retaining some of its original features like an old fashioned elevator that still was operational and bathrooms that were original and well maintained. It offered fresh squeezed OJ, good coffee and wrapped pastries in the morning. If the pastries were fresh baked it would have been a perfect alternative to the typical canned fruit and make your own waffle. The common areas and rooms had an authentic elegance. The staff was well trained and helpful. It was nice to be at an establishment that didn't feel like a clone of the popular chain hotels. Our room was quiet, but I can't speak for those facing the highway. My only complaints are that there was an additional charge for parking and the valet was not available in the late evening. The restaurant was closed and may be in the renovation process. There was an outdoor walkway form the main building with lobby to the other side of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pleasant stay and good value. Rooms and bathrooms are a bit dated. Front desk staff at check-in were preoccupied. The breakfast is limited. Restaurant under remodeling. Great location and parking is easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with thin walls

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Nice hotel. Staff was nice, had some difficulty getting into our room (sensor was broken) but they changed us to a new one. Only complaint was walls were super thin (old building) and we could hear everything around us. We were even scolded by hotel staff for watching tv at a normal volume.