Ratings based on 1,234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Roadtrip to CA

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Easy freeway access clean & friendly, no pets!
Cons: all is good, gentle aging but all good
Location: Solvang and nearby freeway access to the beaches
Surprised how well kept the hotel was considering how old this facility is. The price was great, clean large room with a beautiful pool side and garden like cottage at the pool site.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Always enjoy my stay here. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: It was very clean.
The room was very clean and the staff was extremely nice! I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

good lodging and price for area

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: This is in the heart of Santa Barbara County wine country and near Solvang and a mission. The area is familiar to those who saw the film Sideways.
The hotel is associated with a restaurant of the same name. The room was spacious and well located in the Santa Ynez Valley and toward the lower price range. One of the best features (to me) was a large (c. 35,000 gallon) pool, 3.5 to 6 feet deep, heated to about 80 degrees--a hard thing to find at the motel price for swimming in the off season. There was also a spa. The hotel provided discount vouchers for the restaurant, which I would rate OK but not the restaurant of choice for the area, given the proximity of Solvang. The staff was good but unobtrusive and I had no special needs. Location is good but access can be a bit tricky coming in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bed had not been changed! @ 11pm I changed sheets.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The towels, bed comfortable, room size was great, heated floor by shower.
Cons: Fridge should not be by head of bed. Housekeeping Manager MUST be more diligent. Each room should be inspected for repairs/safety issues daily.
Location: Lovely valley. Lovely central coast of CA
Checked in after 5pm; desk staff very pleasant, had a great waiter and pea soup for dinner; went to a concert nearby. Got back, settled in and my traveling companion retired nearly right away. Watched TV and got ready for bed after 11pm. Washed my face and I found the towel-rack was nearly falling out of the wall. I turned back the blankets on the bed I found rumpled sheets and food crumbs spread all the way across . Front Desk staff wanted to re-room us which I declined at such a late hour. I asked for clean sheets to be brought to the room, showed the staff the mess and changed the bed myself. In the AM I was told because I made reservations via Expedia the hotel could not refund my money right away but they would work to resolve the issue. They also couldn't figure out if I had stayed over or just checked in the previous day. Expedia promised a breakfast which actually was coffee, juice, and pastries. Rather misleading.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

netter zwischenstopp in urigem motel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: die pool anlage und der grill sind wirklich toll.
Cons: das frühstück ist eher mager.
Location: das hotel befindet sich in einem kleinen eher verschlafenen örtchen. wir verbrachten den tag daher in santa barbara am pier und strand.
wir wurden freundlcih vom personal empfangen und entschieden uns spontan zwei anstatt nur einer nacht zu bleiben. wurde problemlos schon einmal vorreserviert. der clou an den zimmern: jedes hat eine terasse oder balkon zum innehof mit der großzügigen pool anlage. sowohl pool als auch jakuzi sind beheizt, so das man auch noch abends, wenn es etwas aufgefrischt hat, schwimmen kann. das frühstück lässt leider zu wünschen übrig, es gibt nur toast und plunderstückchen/muffins. keine cereals oder oatmeal oder frische milch. ansonsten gibt es butter und marmelade, aber auch hier keine weiteren optionen. allerdings hat der innenhof einen gas betriebenen grill. welchen wir am abend nutzten um selbst gekauftes aus dem supermarkt (die kette ralphs ist restlos zu empfehlen!! vergessen sie walmart & co!) das personal war sehr freundlich und stellte uns lange zündhölzer und eine grillzange zur verfügung. das wlan in de zimmern war etwas schwachbrüstig, aber am pool und im kleinen frühstückspavillion hatte man guten empfang.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great bargain / good accommodation

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, breakfast, easy of access to other locations and food, nice courtyard. The rooms were well equipped with refrigerator, microwave and blow dryer.
Cons: Needs better shower head! We were happy with everything else. Nothing more to add.
Location: easy access to Solvang
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Easy access to Hwy 101 for travelers

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We arrived very late, as we stopped on our way to Los Angeles and left on the early side. Our stay was very brief, but we had a restful night. The room was comfortable and clean. Basic amenities were provided and the location felt safe and well situated in relation to the freeway. We left too early to enjoy their complimentary breakfast, but the hotel clerk had coffee ready by 6:30 am for us to take on the road. Overall, a nice stay. I would visit again when in the area. Great price too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Schönes Hotel in zentraler Lage zum Highway Number One. Einziger Wermutstropfen ist das Frühstück. Das ist doch sehr sparsam gestaltet. Unter kontinentales Frühstück haben wir uns zwar nicht so viel vorgestellt. Aber die vorgefundene Auswahl an Speisen war doch sehr enttäuschend. Hier haben in der nahen Umgebung mit vergleichbarem Ambiente auch schon andere bessere Frühstücke bekommen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple but sufficient.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Solving is extremely cool tourist town and all the great wineries speak for themselves. Also do not forget some great local beer
Fantastic location. Clean, convenient, restaurant was great.