Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Wonderful, relaxing experience. Feeling of luxury and tranquility at virtually all times at all locations on the property. Definite thumbs up; looking forward to our next stay at San Ysidro Ranch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Fabulous

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great place to relax - great people, great food, great location, beautiful views of the mountains and ocean - perfect for a quiet getaway or romantic weekend for a couple
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nirvana

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: No - it was perfect - we will be back
Everything a luxury, romantic hotel should be - grounds and setting were magical - room cozy (not small), comfortable - food out of this world
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Overpriced for the quality of the facility.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: A solid four but not a five star. They try to justify price w/too many free "goodies". Dining excellent but also overpriced.
Cons: "Cabins" need major renovation; nice but not five star!
Location: Four Seasons nearby.
Beautiful grounds w/blooming flowers and trimmed bushes everywhere, and a gracious reception area. Cottage OK, but not five star (one sink in bathroom, queen bed); spider web in bathroom, at ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Birthday weekend ever!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Now I know what all the accolades are all about. The SYR is top notch all around. Enjoyed the Pool, dining on our patio and the incredible Stonehouse restaurant. Highly recommend the SYR!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet elegance.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Excellent service, staff is very friendly, make you feel pampered. Beautiful gardens, peaceful and relaxing. .
Went for a girlfriend's weekend getaway. Enjoyed it immensely. Wonderful food. A great place to get away and relax. Good location, close to many sights in the area. Restaurant was excellent as was the service all over the property. They take very good care of you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA resident

Very nice room, but not worth the price.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The rooms were beautiful.
Cons: There was very little to do on property. If your stay is for more than one night, you will want to go into Santa Barbara or be bored.
Location: It is near Santa Barbara. There is shopping, the beach, a great health food store, etc in town, but not much to do on property.
This is an extremely expensive hotel. It did not live up to our expectations. For my husband's 40th birthday, we were the first people at the restaurant with a 6 pm reservation. We were seated directly in the sun. We asked to have the blinds lowered twice, but spent our time squinting with the sun in our eyes. The second couple at dinner that evening was seated right next to us. With no one else in the entire restaurant, we were a little crammed together and could hear every word of their conversation. Aside from this, the room was very nice, but did not warrant the price. The hiking trails were not impressive. There was no spa, only spa treatments in your room. The grounds were very nice, but there was very little to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Truly heaven on earth!

Posted Jun 1, 2015
This place is truly amazing! The cottage really makes you feel at home wish we stayed a little longer, it's worth every penny. The small jacuzzi and the tub are so relaxing, not enough words to describe our experince. This place is highly recommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Geneva, IL

Amazing retreat in the hills above Montecito

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: There was nothing not to like.
Cons: A hot tub would have been nice as our unit did not have one and it was cool during our stay.
Location: High end residential neighborhood resort, a former citrus ranch. Close to Santa Barbara ( 10 minute drive to Downtown). Car recommended.
We had a wonderful 4 night stay here. The hotel is so beautiful and the service is excellent and friendly. The restaurants and room service are excellent. The rooms are very unique. They range from small private luxury cabins to full homes. Very safe area. Sun and stars were amazing. Night time lighting is very low and romantic. Highly recommended, this hotel beckons you back when out sight-seeing and for a future visit! One of the the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Expensive, but worth it. We looked at several other options in the area and were so happy with our choice to stay here despite the extra cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inside and out

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The setting, the gardens, the pool, the charming rooms. The service was beyond excellent, without being busy bodies, the staff was v. helpful.
Location: Loved breakfast and antiquing in Summerland, visiting the Old Mission and the Courthouse (great views of the surrounding area), Arlington Theatre.
The ranch is so nicely landscaped with beautiful gardens loaded with flowers; a citrus grove and also the chefs garden of produce and herbs. It is a wonderful place to wander. But it is also a treat to just stay in your cottage, each one is beautifully decorated in a way that makes you feel at home. It's hard to choose where to go in the room, however, the canopied bed invites you to stay put, but the porch beckons you to go outdoors. It is not an inexpensive retreat, but it is truly a retreat from everyday life.