Ratings based on 2,217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

The staff was very nice when we checked in.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff & clean area to eat a continental breakfast. Also that you can spend 1 night & not be forced to at least a 2 night stay.
Cons: New beds! Felt like there was plastic under the sheets also that made it extra hot to sleep in. The a/c wasn't working either
Location: Not too far from beach or zoo. We were here for a wedding so we didn't visit too much other than zoo & pier area. Santa Barbara is gorgeous!
Unfortunately the room was getting a bit rundown looking, just your average space. Could use an update. The beds were horrible to sleep in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visalia CA

CLEAN!!!!!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
This place exceeded my expectations. It was clean, the pool was was perfect, the jot tub excellent! The staff was pleasant and polite.but most of all it was CLEAN.the room was fresh when we arrived and housekeeping kept it fresh. Way better then expected! I have already recommended to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Earl Warren Farigrounds

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Cons: PARKING!
Location: Great is you are going to Earl warren fairgrounds. I highly recommend the Tee Off restaurant & bar which is walking distance nearby.
It was a decent place & they have done several upgrades since the last time I was there. Parking is a nightmare if you have any kind of larger vehicle. Not sure if it is worth the very high weekend stay rates tho.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel, close to all the fun stuff on state st

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great experience would definitely stay here again if ever in SB
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Ashes, bugs and Tree Sap

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Make sure you check the cooler (which has to be on because of the humidity). Two rooms later after shlepping our things up and down stairs the air conditioner unit(s) continued to spit out ash the size of quarters all over the bed. When I brought two different towels covered in ash (or dirt) to the front desk to tell them I was told "It's dust from last season". Seriously? Also, bring your bug spray and don't park under the trees, there was sap all over my car. It would be nice if they would put a sign up warning people who park there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, wi-fi, easy access from the Freeway.
Location: It is located on State Street where there are a lot of places to eat. We walked down the street to eat a couple of times and just enjoyed the evenin
This hotel was much more than I expected for the price. Upon checking in, the very courteous desk clerk upgraded us to a two-bedroom suite at no extra charge. We stayed four nights and were very pleased. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, wi-fi worked well and the cleaning staff could not have been nicer. If I ever travel to the area again, I will definitely stay at the Sandpiper Lodge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016
No complaints whatsoever. Would stay there again. Nothing fancy but I wasn't raped price wise either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Clean and reasonably priced for Santa Barbara

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Price
Location: UCSB, LaCumbra Mall, Gelson's Market, River Blue Hair Salon (highly recommend), easy freeway access, upper State Street.
Stayed here frequently when daughter attended UCSB. Convenient to campus and Goleta restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Location, parking and staff
The overall stay was fine. It was clean, staff was pleasant and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice quiet place, short drive to Downtown SB.

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Great wonderful staff. Clean, close to downtown area. Surrounded by many services areas, such as restaurants, convenience stores, gas stations, etc..
Cons: The breakfast could have a little more variety. Aside from that, our stay was more than we expected.
Location: Downtown is where all the activity is nearby, with less than 2 miles away, and about a 5 minute drive, you can't go wrong while staying here.
We stayed for 2 nights, over a weekend. We got a suite apartment room, very clean, and spacious. Fully furnished. The staff was very wonderful, and their complimentary breakfast kept us full until it was lunch time. The location was less than 2 miles away from Downtown Santa Barbara. We had a wonderful pleasant stay, and when we decide to go back to Santa Barbara, we will definitely reconsider staying at the Sandpiper Lodge