Ratings based on 1,110 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, hotel requires refurbishment

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: communicate your charges in advance !!!!!
Pleasant except that: 1. I was billed $20 for parking where the ad said "free parking", subsequently refunded 2. Billed $28 Resort Fee. The ad did not specify that, nor was I told when I checked in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Annoyed by machine sound for whole night

Posted Jun 4, 2017
They have charged me $20 for booking confirmation and we were annoyed by machine sounds for the whole night. This is the most terrible night for my whole life, I even didn't have any sleep because of this annoying sound.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont CA

A great place , a lot confort

Posted Jun 1, 2017
It is a great Hotel , nice bed for rest. Good staff attentions
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Nice hotel but 1/4 mile from amenities

Posted May 23, 2017
The pictures on the website show a very nice lobby and pool. However, it wasn't clear to me that the pool and restaraunt were part of the main hotel which is about 1/4 mile from the rooms at the Santa Barbara House.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Why not tell the customers know that the Santa Barbara Hotel is part of the whole chain and that is the reason for a different check-in location. Also, we weren't told about the $20.00 'desstination fee' until the morning of departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff !

Posted May 13, 2017
Hyatt was 1 hour late in check -in ... but totally made up for it . Upgraded room , wine , and amazing hospitality . Will be staying at anyone of the owned by Hyatts again . Thanks to the staff ❤️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

beautiful room with a view of the ocean!

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing, the room was perfect- the bathroom/soundsystem/climate control/valet- everything! I was so impressed, we will be back!
Cons: The price, but honestly being my new favorite hotel, I can't complain. Maybe GPS could have lead me to the lobby instead of their farthest building.
Location: On one of the most beautiful beach in the world! All kinds of fine dining, lots to do on State Street, literally one block walk from the SB Zoo!
beautiful room with a view of the ocean! Nicest room I have ever had, no joke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Upgraded accommodations due to renovations

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Called day before to verify where to check in. Wass told that Santa Barbara house was being renovated and that my reservation was upgraded to the actual hotel. Hotel located across the street from the beach and we stayed in the Santa Rosa building, behind the main building. Room was nice, staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

3 day beach break

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Hotel was imacculate, rooms comfortable and pool area was an excellent sun spot with plenty of sun loungers. Less than a 3 min stroll to the beach (this would depend on room location as hotel split over various buildings). The hotel is approx 30 - 40 min walk to down town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficulties checking in

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Close to where we needed to be and the hotel staff was courteous.
Cons: Tell people where to register. Noise proof building better.
Location: Santa Barbara is excellent--lots to see and do.
You can't check in at that this building, but you are not told this. A phone number is on the outer door. Must drive to another building after calling the phone number and get instructions of where to go. If you do not have a phone, good luck! The building is of mediocre construction with noise carried easily from one floor to the next--woken up each night at 3 AM by noise upstairs. Not really up to Hyatt standards.