Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dinuba, CA

Wrong name I was looking for santa barbara house.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Great stay! Comfortable, but this place is called HYATT SANTA BARBARA. I was looking for this hotel for 20 minutes just because the name was wrong in the Expedia listing. Other than that it was beautiful, right across the street from the beach;also the room was stuffy I tried turning on the air conditioner; it didn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Disappointed

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cons: Cleaning, parking, facility maintenance
I have stayed in Santa Barbara before but never at the Santa Barbara House. Would not stay there again. Though this was part of the Hyatt in Santa Barbara it was actually two blocks away from the actual Hyatt and a lot like sitting at the kids table on a holiday. No check-in desk or amenities in this building at all. Inadequate parking which meant that if the 20 parking spaces were filled when you came back to the hotel in the evening you were on your own. I got in rather late on two evenings and ended up having to park a block and a half away on the street. The shower head had almost no pressure and the tub did not drain properly. The room was halfheartedly cleaned every day and there was food from the prior guest still in the mini-fridge when I checked in. When I pointed these issues out to the manager he offered me a breakfast, (he could have done better), and said he was going to have a firm talk with housekeeping. The next day nothing changed. Don't stay here. Very poor experience for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The hotel was very nice. Love how close it is to the beach. Nice and friendly people. It's a great place to get away! Nice rooms and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sao paulo, sp

Ótimo hotel para viajantes

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel tipo apartamento da rede Hyatt que fica próximo ao hotel da mesma rede. Quartos bons para viajantes e pra quem está de passagem, pois tem um bom custo benefício.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel . Do not book it

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pictures much more better than in real! Old building, rooms are terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
I checked in a little late. Was a little confused on where to check in. Address is cabrillo lane but actual front desk is at a different street. I kept going around the neighborhood trying to find the front desk. Was a little scared at first since I was by myself. Wasn't comfortable with the area since I really couldn't tell much since it was late. But.... The room was really nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel grande di fronte al mare

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Ho dovuto fare un costoso supplemento per potere rimanere nel complesso dell'hotel altrimenti mi avevano assegnato una camera isolata in un condominio lontano dall'hotel !! Inoltre volevano il supplemento parcheggio anche se mi avevano parcheggiato la macchina in strada!! Spiacevole esperienza!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jj

It is very expensive comparing to its condition

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The faucet was clogged so you could hardly wash your face your hand. There was no lobby you could sit for a bit at all!!!! O rthere was kettle in your room so you can drink tea! And we paid almost $ 600, although I saw inns for 200 sth dollars, but I thought this one was better because it was more expensive, but now I reget it!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Noisy. Highway and railway 100 feets away. NoPool.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Check in took more than 1 Hour. Better to go in a different Hotel, which has a Pool! And Where you Could Open a window.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Stay Away

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Cons: The website description and pictures should more accurately reflect what the property and accommodations are.
The good news: I complained about the room and got a full refund. The bad news: The Santa Barbara House is an old building right across the street from the railroad tracks. I couldn't believe how sparsely accommodated the room was. Two queen beds, one desk chair (no desk), a foot stool, a trash can. The TV was small. Bathroom: small. The pictures on the website give the impression the restaurant, pool and other amenities are on site. They aren't. They are two blocks up at the Hyatt. We found a room on Castillo Blvd and were delighted.