Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by udziema from slc

Beautiful view of the beach

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel - good price, excellent location. Design is old and needs to be remodeled - particularly the bathrooms but it is quaint and has character.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Los Angeles

Last days

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
It doesn't really matter what we thought...Hotel getting refurbished for 1 year starting Oct. 1, 2013
4 out of 5
by Kathy from San Jose

Great location and big rooms!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Location: This hotel is across the street from the beach and less than a mile walk to the pier. It is easy to rent a bike with lots of places to ride.
This was our first time at the Santa Barbara Inn. We were told at check in that we would be the last guests in our particular room because the Inn is undergoing renovations. When we got to our room, it looked just like the photo on the cover page, except you could tell that it was a bit worn out. The carpets and wallpaper were well worn and ready for an upgrade. But the room was large, the bed was very comfortable and the view was outstanding. We were fortunate to have a room facing the beach. It was wonderful to wake up to that exceptional view. We are looking forward to returning after the renovations are done. We had a great vacation!!
3 out of 5
by northener from Canada

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
Had no air and no wind coming in from balcony. They offered me a fan and we had to keep the balcony door open all night with a upright fan on the balcony to blow any cool air in. The problem was that this brought in the outside traffic noise from the street. Nice enough hotel though but we weren't impressed with having to park on the street or pay a $7. valet fee to put the vehicle on the lot. This is not in a large downtown hotel and I have never seen this before. Not impressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't return for another stay

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Water leaked from bathroom ceiling at 3:00 in the morning and when told about the problem the response was simply sorry to hear to hear that. I would expect when you pay over $200 for a room that maybe they would have done more than we're sorry. Won't stay here again wouldn't recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Cindi from Elk Grove

We had a very nice visit!

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels
The service, customer service, valet, room cleaning service was great! made our vacation even more exciting! We have a 2 year old, and they were accommodating to anything we needed for him at the front desk. The location was fantastic, right across from the beach, and the zoo was walking distance from our hotel. We had a great time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location / cleanliness
Cons: Safe could be included in hotel
Location: Beach across the road...walking distance to Fishermans' Wharf and central restaurant strip. Easy access to central shopping in State Ave
Great location and well presented hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to assist with places and things to do. Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend this to place to friends.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Orange County,ca

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels
Right across from the ocean. Great personal service. Quiet and peaceful.
4 out of 5
by patty from los angeles

A good value

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels
I thought this was a good value for the area, although the hotel is just average. I had an ocean view room on the second floor. The noise from the strand in front of the ocean is a little loud but it might be better if you book on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff was helpful and they tried hard but are maybe a little inexperienced. It was well after the 4:00 check in before my room was ready. The rooms are not air conditioned and that was an issue for me one of the nights I was there. The roll away is better than at most hotels. They have a decent continental breakfast and had a nice wine and cheese hour on Friday. Overall, I enjoyed my stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Monzerrat from Los Angeles

Cozy, next to the beach, affordable

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. It is in a great location, across the beach. It is only a few blocks away from State Street, but it is a very nice walk. The hotel is very cozy and staff is very friendly. Definitely a great place to stay.