Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated interiors a very pleasant surprise

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The brand new decor and room renovations.
Cons: Took too long to check in. Friendly staff but system seemed a bit slow. Be sure the pool is available if traveling with kids.
This property is in the midst of a major renovation and the owners are putting some serious money into renovating everything. So the pool was closed and the lobby was very worn, with temporary sheetrock walls up. I was nervous about what I had gotten into until I arrived at my room and found it absolutely charming: brand new carpet, bed, bedding, bathroom, tv, decor. If you want to use the pool, be sure it is available. Otherwise, the nicest room I've stayed in in the Buellton/Solvang area, especially for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our guests are able to access amenities at our sister property Flying Flags which is conveniently located next door. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Clean but under construction

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Overall the room was clean. The shower was weird because the way it was styled, it didn't have a door so water would spill into the middle of the bathroom. The hook that holds your towel when you're in the shower kept falling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will communicate with our construction team and inspect the items you have mentioned here. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will visit us again once our renovations are complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Habra, CA

Nicely Renovated

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Last here about 3 years ago when it was called Days Inn, in need of some TLC; so I was very pleasantly surprised to see the nicely done renovation at the now called Sideways Inn; fridge has a separate freezer which I prefer, WIFI is immediate and excellent, modern open concept shower, room design mixes wood and metal, very cool, very comfortable. Sideways Inn will definitely be my go to lodging when in the area👍
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland Hills, CA

Nice location.. still under renovation

Posted Feb 27, 2017
My husband and I took a chance and stayed overnight late February. We knew it was under renovation, so I was anxious. The lobby is still old and needs a remodel, so I even more anxious. But, when we opened the door to our room, it was so cute! It was freshly remodeled, with hardwood flooring, beautiful king bed, sofa and chairs and desk. There was also a small refrigerator. The bathroom was spacious and had all the amenities you would need. When the remodel is complete, there is a little patio for each room, with two chairs. Our room faced the pool, which is still under renovation, but it will be so nice to enjoy this summer. The bonus with this hotel is the fact that you can walk over to the posh RV park and enjoy their amenities as well. This location is wonderful, right off the freeway and in walking distance to wine tasting rooms and restaurants. Great find and will be greater once the motel is finished!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard

Nice hotel close to Solvang.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The newly upgraded room!
Location: Wine tasting!
After reading reviews about this hotel I was kind of scared to stay, but I was presently surprised with the remodel. My room was very nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V. california

Close to Solvang,

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Close to the Fwy, close the to location I was going, and a nice place over all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

In process of renovating,older rooms are unlivable

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: It's future in one to two years
Cons: Finish renovations and do not offer older rooms
Location: Close to Solvang Downtown
When we saw the pictures of this hotel everything looked great. As did our drive around the bend. The problem is that they are renovating the entire hotel and doing only some rooms at a time. More than half are not done or unavailable. The ones that are available, are unlivable. Literally. There was a patched up hole cut in the ceiling of the shower with who knows what that fell into the shower itself. When we turned on the heat we could no longer breath properly due to what was coming out of the faulty ventilation system. Everything was dusty and dank. We were asked to sign a waiver for any damages that would be done if we jumped on the bed?? The pillows were nice but that was it. We stayed in the room and left in the morning without showering because we did not feel that the bathrooms were sanitary enough. We shower later at our next hotel .. it was a terrible experience. The renovations they are doing look great... it is horrible the condition that the rooms that are not renovated are in and ridiculous how much is being charged for a place that I do not feel would pass all health and safety codes. I would wait a full year or two before staying at this hotel, given the size and amount of work they have left to work on. Who knows maybe they changed ownership. Once it is done, the place will be very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent! Clean and Nice views! Kids love it. It matched most of the reviews mentioned here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to host you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by David

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
The sideways inn was great. The newly remodeled rooms were very stylish and comfortable. It even has a pool and hot tub outside. This place is very close to Solvang via a short drive. For the price you can't go wrong. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to your future visits!
4 out of 5
by Tony

Give the Windmill a second chance!!

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Upgrading, remodeling, painting!!! We've always enjoyed the Windmill!! Getting better!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy our upgraded rooms and amenities!