Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Restful stay.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: It was perfect. Everything had been thought of, so there is nothing to improve.
Location: Parks close by. We had a car so it was easy to access all the tourist venues of Santa Barbara.
We had a lovely two night stay at the Simpson House Inn. Everything had been thought of. Beautiful cup cakes on our arrival. Tea and coffee available at all times. We didn't take advantage of it but a lovely spread of food and wine is available early evening. Books to read and beautiful gardens to wander in. Beautiful crockery and a lovely breakfast menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Conifer, Colorado

Christmas refuge

Posted Dec 28, 2016
What a lovely place. We were greeted as we pulled in to our parking spot. Found our room (the garden) to be well-located across from the dining area. Very nice large gardens with small bubbling fountains. Each room was quite private and apart from others. Ours was well appointed, with a vaulted ceiling and vintage wood floors. Pleasant pale-yellow with white trim. Super-fluffy pillows. Our only very-slight concern was that it was a bit tight, the bath being very small. An ideal spot to walk over to State Street where restaurants and shops abound. We enjoyed the daily paper and read it over coffee before breakfast began at 8:30. A nice menu which has a daily special dish. Can't overstate how well we were treated by the servers and everyone else. Superb! Worth every dollar. You'd better get there. Rob V. Conifer Co.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena,Ca

Wonderful Hospitality!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Staff and cozy atmosphere
Cons: Fireplace in the room not working.
Location: Downtown is vibrant. Shops and great restaurants and of course,the beach.
We arrived early and were greeted warmly.Room was ready and it was beautifully appointed.Bed was very comfortable. The wine and cheese tasting was comforting on a very rainy night.Our inn keeper Peg was great that evening. Breakfast the next morning was very good.Service excellent from Andrea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than just a room

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Lovingly restored, comfortable classic hotel. Staff and service were excellent. The gardens and public sitting areas are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable but just a little noisy as it was attached to the hotel office and close to the kitchen. Besides that everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem not to be missed. No risk of disappointment

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
If in Santa Barabara again I would not consider anywhere else. Simply outstanding in all respects - from the greeting as you park your car, to the place itself (beautifully restored building in an immaculate garden setting), the wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, the great breakfast (NB 08:30-10:00) and the helpful & knowledgeable advice as to what to do or where to eat in the area. We would have liked to stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

The best reason to visit Santa Barbara!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
From the time we arrived and were greeted by Katy to the time we left three days later we were treated royally. The B&B is so charming and the grounds are park-like. We stayed in the Sun Room and although small inside, the private deck is amazing! The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The breakfasts served on our deck were delicious and served graciously. The location is so convenient for walking around downtown but we enjoyed the atmosphere at the Simpson House so much that we hung out there for hours. We will return and recommend Simpson House Inn with great enthusiasm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem in Santa Barbara

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: From the moment you enter the gated drive you are in another world. Lush gardens with fountains and comfortable seating locations. The house and cottages are beautiful and you will pull out your camera and consider not leaving. We stayed in the Carriage Room and enjoyed all the conveniences supplied. The hospitality was first class and we were treated as valued guests. The breakfast and afternoon wine/appetizers alone were worth the visit. We were 2 blocks from State St and enjoyed walking to the shops and restaurants.
Cons: We wouldn't change a thing, and we will definitely stay here next time we are visiting beautiful Santa Barbara.
Location: We were 2 blocks from State St and enjoyed walking to the shops and restaurants. You can reach anything by walking, or taking the trolley.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glendora, United States of America

Santa Barbara Nights

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Took the walk to the mission. Went to the Santa Barbara Bowl for a concert. Kicked around State St. and the funk zone.
Very very nice. Grounds are beautiful. Sat outside down by the fire pit siping wine and eating cheese and fruit. great place to unwind. Everything was just right. Cant wait to come back.