Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Simpson House is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is courteous and helpful. The Inn is very comfortably appointed. The location is mostly quiet yet within walking distance of State Street shopping and restaurants. We treated ourselves to a lovely morning walk to the Mission and the Bowl is ~1 mile away. We enjoyed relaxing on the grounds by the fire pit in the evening and on the deck during the warm afternoons. We would recommend this location and look forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best stay we have had in a while.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: If we liked Everything above, there is nothing that can be improved
Location: Many restaurants, shopping and the ocean.
Everything about the Simpson house stay was outstanding. Santa Barbara was great. We hadn't seen the ocean in sixteen years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal Treatment

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had the most wonderful experience! Nothing was overlooked and we felt like we were the most important people on the planet. Wonderful customer service! The refreshments and wine tasting were fabulous and the breakfast exquisite! Highly recommend!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Wonderful experience

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, service and food.
Cons: We stayed in the Weathervane room and the shower head makes it tight to shower in. Otherwise everything was perfect.
Location: The Courthouse is beautiful architecture, botanical gardens and mission.
The B&B was within walking distance to several restaurants and the trolley that went to the beach. Cost $.50 per person and $.25 for seniors. The B&B itself is so relaxing to sit outside by one of seven fountains on the grounds which are lush and well maintained. The bed is the most comfortable bed, like you melt into it but still has firmness. You are served breakfast inside and out. We sat outside on the veranda which we loved. The food is delicious and the service very good. Everyone wants to accommodate you. The daily newspaper is delivered to your door with a "saying" wrapped around the paper. Your bed is turned down and a chocolate is left on the table for you. We loved it and it was perfect to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, CA

Quiet and quaint

Posted May 15, 2017
My wife and I came here on recommendation by my brother for our baby moon. They mistakenly put us in a smaller room but quickly placed us in our proper room. The staff was very kind and the grounds itself exuded a very relaxing old world aura and charm. It felt like stepping into 1874, with all the amenities of 2017. We opted to have breakfast delivered to our room, since my 7 months pregnant wife didn't want to traverse the stairs multiple times, and my was it delish! They certainly put the breakfast in bed and breakfast! Their chef created quiche and salad was great, as was their espresso and basically everything else we tried (which was almost everything on the menu). All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a bnb in the area, you won't regret it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely botique

Posted May 13, 2017
We enjoyed our "my" Mothers Day present at this beautiful Victorian house, everything was as expected and more! Friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and hors d'oeuvres/wine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice get away place.

Posted May 13, 2017
Location: Convenient downtown location that can walk to restaurants.
Hotel has a beautiful garden and inside and out side sitting area that i enjoyed. Staff was very nice and eager to help guest. Food was excellent so as the evening wine and hors d'oeurves and tea and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel,

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast, the history
Cons: Nothing.
beautiful grounds, nice area, park across the street. great staff.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
One of the very ice small inns I have stayed in...great staff and wonderful setting