Ratings based on 1,836 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

across the street to the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Our room had a small patio which led us directly to the pool. Pool was a good size and great for families with children. We were there during the week and it was not busy at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Very Pleased.

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Location: About a half-block east of the hotel is Tri-County Produce (335 S. Milpas St.), and it's not to be missed.
The Fess Parker was a very good choice for my wife and me. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet, the property overall is lovely, and it was in an ideal location (an easy walk to downtown, and literally across the street from East Beach). Regarding reviews that suggest that the hotel is "dated," we saw no signs of that; our room and the public areas, while not brand-new, were certainly up to date, and we had no complaints. The only hiccup had to do with the front desk staff, which seemed inexperienced and a bit robotic in their communication. (But the concierge and bell staff were great.) Also, guests who book their reservations through Hilton seem to get preferential treatment (e.g., free WiFi). Neither of those issues was a deal-killer, though, and we would recommend this hotel to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Otange county CA

Nice hotel, excellent staff, but...

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The facility and the service is excellent. The only negative unfortunately is not a hotel issue. There is a large homeless population and quite often they can be heard yelling from the front lawn. We chose an ocean front room and in this case out was a negative since we could hear and see this activity on a daily basis. The entire city of Santa Barbara seems to be the same way... shuttles 50 cents are a great convenience, but this is also a translation method for the homeless. I feel for them, many seem to have mental issues, not sure if the city has a shelter, since they can be seen seeking pin benches, etc. We won't be returning to Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to the beach and downtown Santa Barbara

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Decoration, bathroom would need some refreshing
Location: Great, 2-min walk from the beach, 10 min to the town across either a nice park or the boardwalk
Big hotel at a walking distance from the beach and State St downtown SB. The room decoration is really old fashioned, same for the bathroom. Standard US breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Close to activity

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Landscaping and pool area are very nice. Room was spacious
Cons: Building maintenance could be improved; needed some work.
Location: Across the street from the beach and close to downtown State Street.
This hotel is a decent property with a good location. Property is beautiful, but could use some maintenance on the structures. Price is high for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
This hotel was perfect! It had everything we needed- we didn't have to leave BUT we could easily walk over to The Funk Zone and State street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Relaxing view from the patio Under a pergola.

Posted May 22, 2017
Great Hotel I enjoyed the beach view from the restaurant, with an extraordinary breakfast. The stuff was very cordial. Rooms clean only thing short in toiletries and I would had loved received more handtowels. Overall for one night stay I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel right across from the beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The luxury of the buildings and the helpful, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just across from the beach and a short walk to the pier it seems a prime location
The Fess Parker is a very big, beautiful hotel. It provides just about everything a guest could need for a brilliant stay. The staff were great, the food was superb and the whole hoteliers lavishly appointed. Easy to get to and just across the road to the beach, this is an ideal site for the hotel. We though it was a lovely place and I would recommend it to anyone
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
For the price wasn't up to snuff. Cleaning staff could not even replace glasses in room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Customer

Overpriced for a view

Posted May 11, 2017
The view is literally priceless. The cost to stay however is a different story. A nice hotel in need of serious upgrades to include the rooms offered up to online booking agencies. Very disappointed in Mr. Parkers Hotel.