Ratings based on 1,845 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
No wine glasses in our room to enjoy the fine wine. Room service was limited and we eventually gave up waiting for glasses. Very limited pool service and limited towels that required a ticket. Security appeared to be an issue due to the number of homeless drifting into the lobby to use restrooms. No complimentary coffee in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Decent hotel, great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Overall, the hotel was great. Staff was friendly. Checking in was easy and quick. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice and that was also amazing. My only complaint was that the wing of the hotel I was staying in had a weird smell (it was the small, one story section close to the pool). I thought about requesting to change sections once I arrived but ended up just pushing through as we weren't in the room most of the time. I would stay at the Fess Parker again but would request another building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful out front - beyond that - not so much

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The look from the front... that's all
Cons: Read my above comments
Location: Beautiful and close
The hotel is beautiful upon arrival. It is in a great location for the beach and town. Bellman and valet are nice. Beyond that, I'll never stay there again. Pool was dirty both in the water and around the edges. The bathroom was that of a two star hotel. Shower nozzle needed to be replaced months before we checked in. Paint and floor grout were in disrepair. Even though it was a holiday we still needed to be on line for work... it was all but impossible the entire stay. Connecting to the hotel network was all but impossible, or, if we did connect we were constantly being kicked off the network. If we were lucky to connect for a few minutes we'd have terribly slow data. Phone calls to the front desk and the tech support service yielded little to no help at all. Nice looking from the photos on line. Beautifully situated location. Terrible hotel for the impression given
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

across the street to the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Our room had a small patio which led us directly to the pool. Pool was a good size and great for families with children. We were there during the week and it was not busy at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Very Pleased.

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Location: About a half-block east of the hotel is Tri-County Produce (335 S. Milpas St.), and it's not to be missed.
The Fess Parker was a very good choice for my wife and me. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet, the property overall is lovely, and it was in an ideal location (an easy walk to downtown, and literally across the street from East Beach). Regarding reviews that suggest that the hotel is "dated," we saw no signs of that; our room and the public areas, while not brand-new, were certainly up to date, and we had no complaints. The only hiccup had to do with the front desk staff, which seemed inexperienced and a bit robotic in their communication. (But the concierge and bell staff were great.) Also, guests who book their reservations through Hilton seem to get preferential treatment (e.g., free WiFi). Neither of those issues was a deal-killer, though, and we would recommend this hotel to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Otange county CA

Nice hotel, excellent staff, but...

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The facility and the service is excellent. The only negative unfortunately is not a hotel issue. There is a large homeless population and quite often they can be heard yelling from the front lawn. We chose an ocean front room and in this case out was a negative since we could hear and see this activity on a daily basis. The entire city of Santa Barbara seems to be the same way... shuttles 50 cents are a great convenience, but this is also a translation method for the homeless. I feel for them, many seem to have mental issues, not sure if the city has a shelter, since they can be seen seeking pin benches, etc. We won't be returning to Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to the beach and downtown Santa Barbara

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Decoration, bathroom would need some refreshing
Location: Great, 2-min walk from the beach, 10 min to the town across either a nice park or the boardwalk
Big hotel at a walking distance from the beach and State St downtown SB. The room decoration is really old fashioned, same for the bathroom. Standard US breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Close to activity

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Landscaping and pool area are very nice. Room was spacious
Cons: Building maintenance could be improved; needed some work.
Location: Across the street from the beach and close to downtown State Street.
This hotel is a decent property with a good location. Property is beautiful, but could use some maintenance on the structures. Price is high for what you get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
This hotel was perfect! It had everything we needed- we didn't have to leave BUT we could easily walk over to The Funk Zone and State street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Relaxing view from the patio Under a pergola.

Posted May 22, 2017
Great Hotel I enjoyed the beach view from the restaurant, with an extraordinary breakfast. The stuff was very cordial. Rooms clean only thing short in toiletries and I would had loved received more handtowels. Overall for one night stay I would go back.