Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing weekend

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Room was beautiful, had a great view & amazing staff would definitely stay again in this hotel, thank you for the wonderful stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good dog friendly hotel - 15 min walk to downtown

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Very dog friendly Great location, Great beds. Generally enthusiastic & helpful staff.
Cons: Lunch/dinner quality General facilities condition Movie rental quality
Location: Hotel is on the waterfront, 15 walk to downtown/wharf for restaurants and shopping. Great dog beach (Arroyo Burro) is 15 min drive away.
This was my fourth time at the Fess Parker. The hotel has a great location: 15 mins walking distance to downtown and is on the waterfront (although there is a four lane boulevard between the hotel and the beach). After dog cleaning fees and parking fees and taxes, it's just an OK value for money. BUT - It is a VERY dog friendly hotel - hard to beat for dog-friendliness in my mind which is why I keep coming back. I had an oceanfront room - very omfortable bed and a room that's nice and big with a good desk and comfy sofa chair/ottoman. Breakfast buffet has a very wide variety of food and the service is generally pretty good. The new wine-tasting room is great. All the staff are super friendly - (although the front desk can be uneven). Pool is great, but it's not always staffed. Negatives. - The facilities are a little old - with scuffs and minor damage everywhere. - The restaurant was hugely understaffed on Christmas day - long waits for service and my food was kind of cold. - Food being cold is a general problem - particularly on the outside patio because of the distance to the kitchen.. General rule of thumb - try not to eat meals other than breakfast at the hotel. - Housekeeping skipped my room one day. - Movie rental was very grainy and poor quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ocean view

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Dog friendly hotel near the water. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Wedding venue and beach proximity ideal

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs some decor update.
Location: Wedding venues, beach, restaurants, old town Santa Barbara in a short drive.
Stayed there for a wedding, walking distance to venue and beach, took our dog with us and there's plenty of areas to walk them, loved the location and look of it. So many beautiful picture settings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sant Clara

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very spacious. Also the location.
Cons: The hotel is definitely not a new establishment. Here and there you can see signs of aging. May be its time to install few new doors.
Location: It is in a superb location. 10 min walk to the wharf and state street.
We just came back from a 2-day vacation at Santa Barbara with kids and few of their friends. We rented a couple of rooms with two queen beds with resort view. I din't read much about the reviews and booked the hotel just by looking at the website photos which looked beautiful. I must say I got intimidated afterwards when I read few reviews which expressed some negative feelings. Any way, crossing my fingers, we arrived at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by what we found. It is a gorgeous hotel spreading over a huge area, nicely situated right beside the sea beach. It has few separate building units. There are walk ways in between and surrounded by nice gardens. Each room has a balcony/patio. Yes, the property is little dated but very well-kept. The thing we liked the most about it is it's location. You can literally walk to the main wharf and the downtown. We had breakfast at the "Round House" and food was delicious. We were blown away by the food presentation. Kids loved it a lot. Overall, I think this is a wonderful property and surpasses my expectation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grover beach, ca

Nice hotel with pool and hot tub!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
But... there are so many hidden fess! They actually charge you $19 just to park in their lot! I've meet heard of this before!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Mold on the siding Roof shingle fell off Dusty

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Staff had a excuse for everything and did not accommodate my wife on her business trip Will think twice before booking here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san luis obispo ca

Amazing beach location but disappointing staff

Posted Nov 16, 2016
The location near the beach, harbor and shops on State St is ideal. The hotel itself is older and is showing its age, i.e. closet door in room was broken, screen was ripped and doorknob to stairs fell off when used. The staff was inexperienced and they only had one staff person at the front desk during check-in time at 4:00pm and again only one person at check out time. Two rooms of the exact same type were booked but ended up with two completely different size rooms. If you are willing to put up with lackluster customer service and older amenities, the location is beautiful (provided you have an ocean view room) and conveniently located near the harbor and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Nice Hotel with lots of parking and good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great property

Posted Oct 19, 2016
wonderful position walk to town nice lobby and pool