Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Lots of Character

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Beautiful pool area
Cons: Wish there had been another outlet in my room for charging my phone.
When I arrived, I was very unhappy to find a note that the City had red tagged the balconies at this hotel. Made me feel a bit uneasy about staying there. The room itself was quite spacious and seemed clean. There was a nice cheese and wine happy hour and the back pool area is beautiful, a great place to relax. I would like to recommend this hotel to friends, but not under the current conditions, red tagged balconies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Very nostalgic

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Our stay was excellent. The hotel staff were very accommodating. The pool area was beautiful with a classical touch. The walk to the beach was about 2 minutes. Great all around place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca.

GREAT LOCALE, BUT PEOPLE SHOULD KNOW...

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location of the hotel itself, but not the separate buildings down the block. Half a block to the beach, Stearn's Wharf, State Street.
Cons: Fix the "broken" parts of the hotel, pass inspection, have the big red UNSAFE signs removed, then show & rent to guests!!
Location: Close to the beach, Stearn's Wharf, restaurants, State Street shopping.
We loved the location, until they walked us down the block to a separate building. The room was up a dark steep stairway with inadequate handrails. When staff tried to open room, it was already occupied. Went back, got another key, walked us even farther down the block to a different building. Room looked like abandoned apartment, which we didn't accept. We were told those buildings are owned by a separate company who uses Villa Rosa's front desk for check-in & check-out. Weird. Went back to hotel, where we were taken upstairs & down a hallway which was covered with big RED SIGNS, posted by the City of Santa Barbara. The signs read UNSAFE TO OCCUPY!! Staff opened a room which had more UNSAFE posters inside. I wouldn't go inside. Next, a guest was leaving, and we were given that room, which was so hot & tiny, but the best one so far. No A/C, just a fan. Doors opened right onto the pool. where people were sitting a few feet away. We could hear their conversations & walkers-by could look right into the room.. We wanted to leave, but had paid for 4 nights in advance, no refund. After staying 2 nights, they agreed to refund the last 2 nights & we left. After decades of staying in SB, I've never had a negative experience. I'm so baffled as to how they can rent rooms which are clearly posted by the City as unsafe. The staff said the City posted the signs, due to complaints by a disgruntled ex-employee. Huh??
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location poor service

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
The check in desk were fairly rude and unwelcoming when we arrived and whenever we made a request. The afternoon wine and cheese and breakfast in the morning were really good and the pool and spa area was lovely in a beautiful garden. Our room was large but up a dark staircase round the back and definitely felt a bit tired- the kitchen only had one chair for the table, one cup and one wine glass which was a bit useless and there was no hair dryer. Lovely location and pool but pretty poor service and accommodation for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles, CA

Walking distance to the beach and to local shoppin

Posted May 22, 2016
Had a booking mix up that the staff quickly fix and was updated to a cottage. Was a nice, cozy place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Villa Rosa not suitable for Santa Barba area.

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
We spent little time in the room. Had to carry luggage up steep flight of stairs with dirty carpet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anaheim, ca

Posted Apr 28, 2016
I have stayed here before in the past few times and it's always just such a nice cozy stay. Not to mention it's great location, just across the street from the beach!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

eh - definitely not what it used to be.

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
normally stay here - but this time around it was awful. the cottage rooms were totally undermaintaned and the front desk was unaccomodating. Hasn't happened before (i've stayed a few times), i was actually a bit shocked. Not sure what's happening over there....
1 out of 5
by Jonathan from LA

Cute from pictures but not a nice place to stay.

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
The building looks really cute from the outside but it is very run down and in serious need of updating. The location is great, and the staff is very nice and helpful, but the condition of the hotel in general the and rooms in particular is just shoddy. The carpet is dirty, the tile is cracking, the windows are drafty, the heat doesn't really work, etc. It's also loud, both from the street noise and from the inside. There are other choices in the neighborhood, so I would avoid this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north county

dissapointed

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Location and exterior was great. The heater didn't work in the room, so it was freezing cold and there were no other rooms to be moved to or extra heaters. Also my door to the patio didn't lock and could be opened by just pushing it, keep in mind I was on the first floor and my patio faced the street. The room smelled very musty and looked nothing like the pictures online. The manager in the morning was very helpful and helped to correct the situation. Either way, I would most likely never stay here again.