Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Comfortable, basic lodgings

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms with cooking facilities, if that's your thing. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Our room was probably a smoking room at one time or another; it still retained a bit of the odor.
Location: Very close to Santa Clara University and the San Jose airport, well located for access to Silicon Valley activities.
We chose Candlewood because we had stayed there once years ago, and knew we could expect a clean, basic room. The location was not as close to our activities as some other motels and hotels, but those tended to be kind of sketchy, so they didn't make the short list. Candlewood is easy to access, plus there's a great bagel place right across the drive for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Room was the size of a cruise ship, price paid was way too high for what you get .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Meh, Not the Worst

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good location for the train, about 5 min from the airport, and for me it was located right next to my companies office building. It's also right across the street from the university - basically, this place is all about the location. Room was ok, smelled a bit smokey even though it was a non-smoking room. The bed was good, bathroom was ok, shower was weak. It was pretty clean, nothing too great about the decor or space, a bit dated. Again great location and a decent place to go back to after a long day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, CA

Close to CalTrain, Amtrak and Avaya Stadium

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Close to CalTrain, Amtrak and Avaya. Clean quiet and comfortable.
Location: Avaya Stadium, train station, Historic part of train station open on Saturdays, University.
Two minute walk from train station (literally). Walk to Avaya Stadium through pedestrian underpass--about a 20 minute easy walk. Starbucks, bagel shop and sandwich place across parking lot from hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Spacious room was great. Had kitchen with refrigerator, dishwasher, electric cooking service, fully stocked with dishes. Bed was very comfortable, room was mostly quiet. It does have an add-on AC unit in the room, which does hum when it is on. We were fine with it. Remodeled recently and they did a great job. We were only there for one night so did not use the kitchen. Can easily see visiting a child at the University or business trip and making better use of the space. Hotel does not have large lobby or restaurant, but does have sundries and snacks. Will probably come again for comfy bed and convenience to train and stadium.
4 out of 5
by XING

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
I think it is a good hotel with convenient traffic and beautiful view except: 1 My fridge makes a loud noise; 2 The bathhub drains very slowly; 3 No breakfase; 4 Though it does not affect me, but I have to tell some guys that the hotel will shook when the train pass by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
What one expects from candlewood suites functionality, convenience, to Santa Clara university
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Michelle

Parents with small children beware of staying here

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
We were relocating to another state and needed a place to stay for a couple nights before flying out. The main reason we chose this hotel was they provided cribs, had suites and were close to the airport. The day of check in I asked the receptionist if they had put a crib in the room as I requested in the booking made months prior. She said to check the room and if there wasn't one in there to let her know. When there wasn't one in the room we went back down to the lobby to request one and were told by the same receptionist, oh the hotel no longer offers them. So where was my 15 mon old supposed to sleep? If I would have known, I could have made other arrangements or for that matter probably booked another hotel. This put a damper on the entire experience. Other cons: the shower pressure was awful and the doors in the suite were very squeaky and loud. Pros: Santa Clara University's campus is beautiful and the garden is worth a walk through. Since the hotel doesn't offer breakfast, there is a Starbucks and a bagel shop in the same parking lot. There is a DVD player in the room and you can rent DVD's for free at reception.
5 out of 5
by Raul

Great

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and not too noisy good people great place
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great...

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great Location...