Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Great location near tons of sites to see including the Duomo. Great night life nearby.
Great room. If I needed more of anything the hotel staff was able to provide it ASAP
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
My family of four stayed here for a few nights and had a wonderful stay. We would definitely come here again and would recommend it to our friends. The room was very clean and comfortable, and also very well designed. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and location.
Cons: We arrived at 2 for check-in, but the room wasn't ready. We weren't able to freshen up after our long drive.
Location: Galleries and restaurants were all close by.
The location is a short walk from the Ufizzi. Parking was a nightmare. We gave up. Drove out to the underground parking garage and took a taxi to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and friendly staff. The only challenges are this accommodation doesn't have lift, so you have to take stairs to level 1.
3 out of 5
by Brien from New York

Fine stay, mediocre service

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at Black 5 after a long and frustrating morning/afternoon of travel. We took the bus with our large suitcases, and got to the building around 1:15. We buzzed up to be let in, and was told that check-in was not until 2. We were then let up, but told by the housekeeper that we could leave our bags but had to leave immediately. We were all but pushed out the door! (It would have been nice to use the bathroom....) When we came back, a new person was at the front desk and was polite, but very direct: "You need to pay the city tax in cash, please and now." He was perfectly cordial, but didn't show us to our room or anything. For the rest of our stay, no one looked up at us as we entered and left Black 5, much less greeted us. It all felt very impersonal, which was exactly the opposite environment we'd want from a "B&B" (and to be clear, this was an old-school pensione, not a bed and breakfast). The breakfast, which was the whole reason we chose this place (in order to save money and also be able to get an earlier start to the day) was packaged croissants and cornflakes, with powdered coffee. Powdered coffee, in Italy?! The room itself was fine, and the bathroom was clean (although the shower nozzel seems to have been attached improperly, so it blasts water onto the floor when you're bathing). The one thing that was REALLY annoying was the trash and recylcing truck that seemed to come by at every single hour of the day and night, waking us up quite a bit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

It is NOT a hotel! It's a B and B. Misleading name

Posted Sep 6, 2015
You pay for breakfast for 4 people!!And for breakfast you get no milk even! You get biscuits and crackers with 2 yoghurts in a fridge and coffee satches. A small cornflakes pack but no milk!! You will be charged 30 euros/ hour after 6pm arrival as a call out charge to let you in. Staff absent/unhelpful. No lift on ground floor. 3 flights of 71 stairs first so imagine if youre pregnant and have twins in a baby buggy!! and alot of luggage! Awful! left the next day. Not a hotel ;( room was clean but we had a mezzanine floor for our 2 year old twins..no cots...not appropriate...all 4 of us slept in a small double bed ; ( very tired hungry and unhappy ;(. Left next day. No one at checkout so had to leave keys with cleaners. Street views of other concrete building. No nice sights to see. Dark alleyway.
5 out of 5
by Emily

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel for the price, friendly staff, clean, modern decor. The hotel is great for no fuss travelers who are okay with not everyone speaking perfect English and who do not need a 24hour front desk, but we did not need that so it had just what we needed. Great access to the city. Taxis were close by if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended, enjoyed our stay

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, reasonable price. Enjoyable stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
The location of this bed and breakfast is great(very close to the main attractions). If you get a good deal it does worth the stay.You need to carry your luggage one floor to reach the elevator. The breakfast is not good,there is an electrical kettle in the room to make your own tea. But if you are a coffee drinker you need to go out and buy your breakfast coffee!!! There is a tray in the room containing some prepackaged foods as breakfast. Not good at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Florence Apartment

Posted Aug 3, 2015
If you are looking for a spacious, comfortable, clean and large apartment in central Florence, this is the place. We had a wonderful time in Florence and this apartment was perfect. Room 14 has double height ceilings and comfortable beds. There isn't much of a view but we didn't intend to spend much time there. It's not a hotel so don't stay here if you need room service and a restaurant. The staff are brilliant and the set up is great.