Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riyadh

Posted Sep 12, 2017
nice location and room with river view is highly recommended , and staff is friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Good location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very helpful staff, good location within easy reach of all the main attractions of Florence. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Hotel Balestri and view to River Arno

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: An iron and ironing board in the room as well as a kettle for tea when you just want to relax.
Location: Short walk to all major attractions and shops. Cross the bridge for a change of scenery and walk to the Pitti Palace and gardens.
Absolutely wonderful location ... throw open the windows and look out on the River Arno with beautiful sight lines to Ponte Vecchio which changes every day with the early morning light and evening sunsets. A short walk to all the major attractions and shopping facilities. The decor was gorgeous and the rooms spacious and clean with good sized bathroom. Each morning we were served a banquet for breakfast and there was a lovely little room one could relax in if you didn't want to go back to your room. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming and I would stay at Hotel Balestri again and would recommend highly to anyone thinking of a holiday in Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Great hotel in a quite location. Perfect for our honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Beautiful views of the river. Great location!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pleasant from start to finish! Great location - not too close to the centre and tourist buzz but close enough to walk. Beautiful views of the river. Fantastic facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the river.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed staying at this hotel. Wonderful hot and cold breakfast with cappuccinos and prosecco. Walking distance to all main attractions.
Cons: none
Location: There are restaurants and close to all main attractions.
Very nice hotel. It was close to the river and within walking distance to all sites. We had a beautiful view of the river and our children had the triple room with a view of the Duomo. Wonderful staff and great breakfast with prosecco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
view of the Arno, close to center of activity but not right in it, which was nice. Have to crane your neck out the window to see the Ponte Vecchio, but that is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Nice hotel close to the river in a great location. Clean and up to date rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel and Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Clean, tidy, and well presented Staff very attentive Suggest paying a little more to obtain a river view Aircon is the best I have experienced (quite)
Cons: TV channels limited, would suggest adding a music channel
Location: Great for all the main tourist sites. Suggest taking the tour bus, 2 day pass. represents good value for money great views over Florence
Fantastic hotel, close to all areas of interest and all walkable Arrived by bus from Pisa, coach stop is at the railway station and hotel is approx. 1.5km. Walkable with cases if you choose you route (avoid the centre as this is extremely busy), suggest taking the river path Florence is a fantastic place with lots to do Great eating places all within easy walking distance Suggest taking the bus to Fiesole and explore all the nooks and crannies. Have lunch and a drink and experience the views Eating places, you can eat for a little or as much as you like in terms of food and cost, but certainly go for the Tuscan choices - you will not be disappointed Must rate as one of the best city breaks in Italy - have been to all major cities in the past (Rome, Venice, Naples, Milan, Sicily and Sorrento in which I think is second best) Allow ample time if taking the bus from Pisa and return - a little hectic when catching the bus from Florence station returning to Pisa A lot of English speaking people, even though I can speak broken Italian The environment is safe and secure with lots of police on the streets in all the popular places Would highly recommend
3 out of 5
by Gracie

Not what the pictures or description show/say

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was nothing like what Hotels.com shows on the website. Neither the size of the so called Jr Suite nor the looks of the room nor the room amenities. Nothing! We ask management about it and they said that was a different hotel from their company. After being cramped in a tiny room they agreed to move us to larger room but still nothing like what we had expected to get based on Hotels.com. The room was outdated. Our "river view" ended up being a view of the Duomo and house roofs. Also our sink was clogged the entire time, the shower seal did not close properly causing a lot of water to end up on the bathroom floor and the turn down service was a hit and miss. Last but not least, the front desk clerk demanded we pay the city tax with cash only. He would not accept a credit card. He said it was the city Florence requiring that, which is very strange because this is not our first time in Florence, with March being our last stay but at a different hotel, and we have always been able to pay with credit card. So something to be aware of.