Ratings based on 1,303 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollister, CA

An uncomfortable, comfortable stay

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The bed was comfortable... but the tv remote, didn't work. The blow dryer didn't work, but I had my own. And the walls are thin. The breakfast in the morning wasn't bad... waffles, muffin, juice, ceral, and coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reno

Close to ocean

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Thin walls Cheap rooms Needs capital infusion Weird people staying there Not comfortable Wasted money staying here Oh yeah parking lot fees too Never staying there again Thin walls Cheap rooms Needs capital infusion Weird people staying there Not comfortable Wasted money staying here Oh yeah parking lot fees too Never staying there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Nov 23, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for the first time last night and it was surprisingly very nice. We were saving money but with how good it was, we now know that we’ll akways stay here when in Santa Cruz. Stephen and Gem were great at the front desk too. And our pup liked it too :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Terrible hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
When I showed up no one was at the front desk and the doors were locked. They had a note on the door saying to contact this number after hours and no one answered. I was forced to find another hotel late at night because there was no one to check me in or give me a key to the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We came to get away from the smoke in Sonoma County. This motel was in a great location- short walk to the beach and short walk to many shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, The room was clean- the beds comfortable and it was off the street so not loud- things I value. The breakfast was good too! My only complaint was that I was charged $10.00 to park- which I did not know about before I booked. Seems silly since it is a motel and there is a parking lot, to charge customers to park there...its not San Fran guys..... but the fact that they allowed us to bring our cat - (for a fee) was very helpful. My daughter would not leave home without the cat!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

best thing was the location and breakfast

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: location and breakfast
Cons: repair of ice machine, replenishing of supplies in hotel room, faster internet, increased and enlarged parking spots
Location: 3 minute walk to the beach and shops;10 minute walk to boardwalk fun at other end of the beach; 10-15 minute walk to downtown restaurants on Pacific
This was my second time visiting Santa Cruz and my daughter. I don't need anything fancy, just wanted to park my car and walk about. I liked this hotel better than my first because it was just off the hubbub of the beach area (and at the other end from the boardwalk rides), but just by a 3 minute walk to the beach. It had a great breakfast with cereals and muffins and breads, and best of all, homemade waffles. However, for the two nights I stayed, the Keurig machine in my room had no pods (supposedly they were all out, but really, this was the long Columbus Day weekend, one should be prepared) and the ice machine was broken; so for both items you had to go to the front office -- not so good first thing in the morning when you're looking for that first shot of caffeine. Also, the internet service was extremely slow, but much faster the second night for some reason. I have to say the night staff person was extremely friendly and helpful, as much as he could be with no supplies and a broken ice machine. despite those drawbacks, which I would hope would be fixed by my next visit, I would still choose this hotel due to its location and very comfy bed. but I'm not one to usually fuss and look for luxury since I spend most of my vacation outside of my hotel rooms... p.s. they do have on-site parking, but just enough for each room. I had rented a teeny tiny car and would not have been able to park at all the second night if I couldn't have squeezed in by the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fortuna Ca.

Run down

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Unacommadating and unfriendly staff. Room was small and damaged. No where to park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom issues

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The bathroom sink was clogged, toilet needed repair as well. Nice staff but the place was a dump.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollister,CA

Posted Oct 10, 2017
It was a last minute trip, we chose this hotel because it’s close to the beach and my daughters love the swimming pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump

Posted Oct 4, 2017
No towels, no soap, no washcloths. Bed bugs and shady people around.