Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale, FL

Below average rooms with creepy hotel staff

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The rooms were tiny. No where to put one suitcase, let alone 3 suitcases for our family of 4 in a double bed room. We were only there for one night.. thankfully. I normally don’t mind comfort inn hotels but this one was extremely eery. The staff member who checked us in the night before was also the same person at the desk in the morning. Except that when we were trying to eat the (mediocre, probably undercooked) breakfast, he stood at the desk just staring into the distance and laughing. Making for a very uncomfortable meal. Might visit Santa Cruz again in the future, but you’ll never find us at the Comfort Inn Beach Boardwalk again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Long Beach CA

Great Hotel/Could be Better

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: This is a great hotel that's close to everything that SF has to offer. The staff was exceedingly awesome on check-in and with questions and such.
Cons: However, if I could change a thing, I'd get new comforters, new decor and a mini fridge in the room for all my SF goodies during my stay.
Location: Very close to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Bridge, the Presidio -- pretty much all the highlights.
This is a great hotel that's close to everything that SF has to offer. The staff was exceedingly awesome on check-in and with questions and such. The only complaint is, it's a bit dated. I stay all over the country for work and this place seems like it's stuck in a time warp. Overall, it's clean and comfortable, pretty much all I look for in a place. However, if I could change a thing, I'd get new comforters, new decor and a mini fridge in the room for all my SF goodies during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Nice place to stay, close walk to boardwalk.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The Hotel manager was very accommodating and made for a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location, cheap, clean.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Hotel was comfortable, room was clean and affordable so I gave a decent rating based on its relative price. It's not a Ritz Carlton. Santa Cruz has a lot of itinerant travellers though and a few of them seemed to be staying at the hotel. Income inequality is on full display - welcome to America.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great location by the boardwalk. Walking distance to boardwalk and stores. Refrigerator and microwave in the room were convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Great location, just steps away from the Boardwalk

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, staff
Cons: n/a
Location: Easy walk to downtown and to the boardwalk.
Easy to find and a quick check-in, even let us go in early. Really nice guy at the counter, room was very clean and had no issues at all. Very nice free breakfast options. We didn't partake but it was way better than we've seen at other places. We were happy they let us stay parked on Sunday after we checked out, we wanted to walk around a bit more before leaving. Would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by Victor

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Basic motel room; not great but not bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Clean hotel close to the beach.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Clean hotel close to the beach. Front desk staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable and shower was clean. Couldn’t have asked for much more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Walkable

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Room a little small but ok for an overnight stay. Convenient parking.
3 out of 5
by Gloria

Nice motel with some small negative points

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
The receptionist remembers me the guy of American Beauty, always dark and serious...maybe this is not his job. The motel is ok, the breakfast was very good with the waffle machine, sausages, eggs... Good location, near the beach and the boardwalk. Negative point: it is near a construction site, then in a week day morning it is noisy.