Ratings based on 1,948 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, Ca

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location right on the beach. Excellent for kids and families.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WAY OVERPRICED

Posted Sep 4, 2017
For what we paid a night, I was expecting a stunning hotel experience. Rather, it's a quaint motel like structure that is easily overwhelmed by holiday crowds. The room is decorated in a retro theme and is adequate. Certainly nothing about says it's worth as much as we paid. The pool needs to be triple the size it is now. It was packed and there were not nearly enough employees to service the guests. Dinner at Aquarius was a similar fiasco. Next time I want to visit the beach, I could buy plane tickets to Hawaii with the same amount of money and stay somewhere better equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Lower floor rooms by the pool are noisy for guests that do not have kids. Pool hours however were enforced well and the noises of kids stopped at 10pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

family friendly hotel with view and amazing pool

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: It was family friendly and rooms were spacious. All rooms had ocean view with balcony. The Verve Coffee stand was a nice surprise.
Cons: Rooms were great but would have loved to have a bath tub.
Location: Hotel was close proximity to wharf and boardwalk.
My family and I stayed at Dream Inn for a quick get away and it was exactly what we were looking for. Great pool with beach access and stiff drinks! The staff were friendly and attentive. Rooms were comfortable with Ocean view. We spent most of our time by the pool and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marin

My husband 60th birthday

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great Hotel friendly staff lots of fun able to walk everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Do your research

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The front desk staff are TERRIBLE! Hidden fees that we weren't aware of, no explanation they just charged us when we got to the hotel. 100$ fee for no idea what, non refundable and no explanation, not on Expedia app or website. The front desk staff needs to be trained on proper service. Great beach view. Hotel restaurant was great! The room was clean but the staff really ruined the trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Jeromey, Hotel Management
Hello Daniel, Thank you for staying with us at the Dream Inn and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room, the views and our restaurant. I am sorry that we did not clearly communicate that your credit card was being authorized $100 for incidental charges. That authorization was released upon check out. If you need further assistance please feel free to reach me personally at the hotel. Best Regards, Jeromey Lopez Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Classic Santa Cruz

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hallways, and rooms could be a little more clean
Location: Great food, surfing, and the boardwalk.
I was anxious to see the hotel after the renovations. Nice lobby, although the hallways looked like they could use a little touch up. Room had classic surf city vibe, and room was furnished nicely. The bathroom is a little small, but great shower. All the rooms have balconies, and it was lovely to open the sliding glass doors to the sounds of the waves crashing. Great restaurant and bar. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester, uk

Oasis on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Lovely hotel, right on the beach. Spacious rooms with great amenities. Pool and oversized jacuzzi were a hit with the kids. Staff were friendly and professional. If I return to Santa Cruz I will stay at the dream inn again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice location, great staff!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room was very nice. Our view was obstructed by the umbrella below during the day but I am pretty sure we booked one of the last rooms available and even with the umbrella, it was a wonderful view. We slept with the door open so we could hear the waves all night. Housekeeping must not come every day? Had to request housekeeping to at least get new towels. Room next door had very loud children both late at night as well as early the next morning on the patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A great hotel, beautiful view. Wish we could stay longer. Hotel extremely accommodating, friendly staff. Will visit again for sure!!