Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did Not Meet Expectations

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I was expecting a motel quality room on arrival. However I was not expecting the dented hole in the bathroom door, the musty old smokers room smell or the managers friends having a hot tub party outside our room the night we stayed. It was obvious this motel had seen better days and I was disappointed in the quality and overall feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Stay Away.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Took a chance on a 2 1/2 star motel with a great location. What a mistake! Expedia description of property and room type were 100% wrong. No ocean view, rooms had been smoked in - not non-smoking. The first room we were assigned #117 smelled like vomit...the manager did give us room #119 instead which smelled like mold and smoke (horrible but better than puke!) I actually bought an air freshener to try and help through the night. I originally plunked down the $200 on a last minute, Saturday night stay because of the included wi-fi and breakfast but wound up skipping on both. We didn't even want to take morning showers. Take my advice - do not stay here...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, and that it was not suitable for your needs. The majority of our guests report that we provide clean, comfortable accommodation, with friendly service, at a great price in this expensive area, and we are sorry that we were not better suited to your needs. We will ask our housekeeping manager to ensure that all of our rooms are aired better after every guest checks out; thank you for this useful feedback. We appreciate the fact that you stayed with us, and provided us with your review, thank you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not the HJ quality we have previously experienced

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Location, guest laundry, bed
Cons: Rebuild it as a hotel, not a motel
Location: Great location, near to beach, boardwalk, quay and restaurants
Despite our misgivings in the title we were pleased that the location was so close to the beach, boardwalk and quay/pier. It was motel style and generally OK. Bath tub chipped and white ceramic had peeled away to reveal gray colour in places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy to hear that our location was so appropriate for your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again when you next visit Santa Cruz. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa Rosa california

Confirmation

Posted Oct 10, 2017
You did not transmit the reservation to the hotel , they had no record of my " Expedia confirmation " so the question it, howbgje hell was it confirmed when they never got it? Were they lying to get me to pay full price ? Which I had no choice but to do , so, Expedia, please issue me a credit
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that there was an issue with your reservation and that your confirmed booking with your booking agent was not on our system. If you are staying with us, or indeed any hotel, again, do consider booking directly with the hotel, and you will have less likelihood of such an issue arising. We trust that you enjoyed your stay once you got checked in, and we hope that you will stay with us again when you are next in Santa Cruz. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Staff was not welcoming at all, room very small

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: room was clean
Cons: need insulation in the walls, way too thin, can hear everything that goes on in next room. Staff could at least pretend they are glad you came.
Location: Lots of nearby activity, wharf, fishing,, kayak rentals, boardwalk, surfers, restaurants.
This hotel's staff seem to have the attitude that they are not concerned with customer service due to the fact that they are close to the Wharf, close to the Boardwalk (but not right on it as advertised). They know they will get the customers mostly due to location so are not concerned about filling the rooms. Room was clean but paper thin walls, can actually hear person in the next room snoring,, can hear every word said in the next room, and the room was barely adequate for one person, two people would have to literally step around each other to get to the small bathroom. Not bad for a cheap price, would never pay much for a room here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are known for our wonderful staff and the fantastic service that we provide, and we are sorry that this aspect of your stay was not satisfactory. Your impression of our staff does not match with the general feedback that we get at all, and we are very sorry that you got such a poor impression of our team. Whilst we are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the terrific value that we provide, we are sorry that you did not love your stay, and we are very sorry that you didn't have a fantastic impression of our hotel or our team. We would love an opportunity to change your opinion on a future visit. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

Great location!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Wonderful location! Walking distance from the pier and boardwalk. There is so much to do. My only issue is that the air conditioning unit was very loud making sleep challenging.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for spending your valuable time in providing us with a review of your stay. We are happy to have provided you with a suitable location, and a suitable hotel, from which to explore this area. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nor cal

Run down and old

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Our room was less than desirable to look at. The floor was all torn apart under the old and very thin carpet. The bath tub had huge chips out of it all over and a big red spot on the drain. The sink in the bathroom had no regulator on it and the water pressure sprayed everywhere. The toilet had been replaced but the patch job on the wall was hideous. But more than anything the bed was like sleeping in a pit. There was zero support in the middle and we rolled to the center where we were on coils. Finally at midnight we asked to be moved to another room. They did move us after they assured us the mattress was only theee years old. If that was the case they either spent about $500 on or to begin with or they were not telling the truth. It was terrible and ruined our stay. The breakfast was to me not very acceptable as there were bulk jars for margarine and peanut butter and syrup. You had no idea when using them who was before you or if someone's germs were in them as they are open to anyone to touch. Single servings packaging is really what is appropriate for a hotel application. I woul never stay there again or recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience during your recent stay with us. Our maintenance and housekeeping teams have been alerted to your comments and they will ensure that the issues highlighted will be addressed. We are sorry that you did not deem our method of serving breakfast to be appropriate, but this is actually commonplace throughout the U.S. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress you during your next visit to this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
OK facility but close to the pier & has free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. We are happy that everything was to your liking, and that you enjoyed our fantastic location and our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town. Thank you for your review! Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very nice place 5mns from Broadway. Stuff very pleasant. I am definitely with book a this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are always happy to hear that our guests intend to stay with us again, and we hope to see you soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacrmaento, CA

Average hotel, but great location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cons: Better coffee, please! Maybe invest into Keurig machines?
We always stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the wharf and Boardwalk. The hotel is only average, but being able to walk almost everywhere is priceless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are always happy to welcome you to our hotel, and we are pleased to provide you with suitable accommodation for your needs. We will investigate the idea of getting better coffee - thank you for your suggestion! We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management