Ratings based on 2,395 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Easy walk to downtown and wharf and West Cliff Drive or walk.
Cons: Breakfast. Also the rates practically double on weekends. We were refugees from the fires in Sonoma. They refused our request to keep the weekly rate
We stayed there a few years ago and it has much improved now in 10/17.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Convenient location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
When we arrived at the hotel construction was happening outside the hotel that made it hard to have a conversion with the ladies at the front desk. They originally were going to put us in a room where you could feel the vibrations from the construction. We were moved to the back of the hotel where we could no longer hear it. When we went to the pool around 4pm, the construction was still going on and a conversation could not be had because the noise was too loud. The front desk was not sympathetic as they simply complained that they had been listening to the noise since 6:30 am when it started. The room was nothing fancy, carpet looked quite dirty but bedding and bathroom was clean. Location was great as it was a three minute walk to the beach and downtown. I would not recommend walking around alone at night as the downtown area seems to get a bit sketchy in the evening. Continental breakfast was average, no complaints. Overall not what we had expected for the price we paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Terri, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge. We value all feed back as it helps us improve our property and continue to provide quality rooms and great customer service. I am aghast to hear you felt our staff was not sympathetic to your issues with the construction noise. Unfortunately, we were not forewarned the construction was going to happen and its beginning was a surprise to us. The day the construction began we took steps right away to ensure our guests were making an informed decision if they chose to stay with us during the inconvenience. We will certainly take steps to correct the issues you've raised and welcome you to visit us again! Warmly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morgan hill ca

Very clean, modern looking rooms.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Comfy bed. Double shower, wood-look floors. Only problem was road construction at 8 am. Just check first to see if jack hammers are finished working. I will definitely be back. Close to downtoand and boardwalk also. Very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Richie, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the property! We had no idea before the jack hammers began that a construction project was even scheduled! The crew has said the worst of the noise will finish early next week... We can't wait to see you again! Warmly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bealeton va

Great hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Double head shower
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to the Santa Cruz beach. Restaurants within a couple of blocks
We stayed one night here. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in. Close to the beach. Double head shower. Very comfortable room. Two hot tubs and pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, I know! The new showers are amazing! We are constantly improving our property and our service. It is so heartening to hear you enjoyed those upgrades. We have also replaced all of our beds and televisions. Our location is ideal as well. Food and entertainment are close by and our pool and hot tubs provide another place to enjoy a sunny day in beautiful Santa Cruz! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us! Please come and visit again soon! Warmly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel, wonderful breakfast

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Had a wonderful check in, both ladies in the front were so accommodating and friendly. Room was very nice, shower was the best shower I've ever experienced in my life. Could not have asked for a better stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, I'm doing a happy dance! Your happiness with your stay is exactly what we want all of our guests to experience. I am so glad we succeeded with you! Thank you so much for reviewing Ocean Pacific Lodge, we can't wait to see you again! Warmly,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Good location near the wharf and boardwalk.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The price was reasonable, and the location was very good- walking distance to the Santa Cruz wharf, boardwalk, and beach.
Cons: The soap (used once) was taken away each day. I thought this was wasteful. Also, I had to have my key replaced twice when they stopped working.
Location: Nice walk to the beach, boardwalk and wharf. Lots to do in Santa Cruz.
Though it is not a "ritzy" hotel, it does the job. It's location is great, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was nice, with a good selection of foods. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! We value all feed-back and will certainly take your suggestions into consideration in the future. Please come and visit us again, soon! Warmly,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, Cal

Off Season

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location. Excellent sound proofing. Staff helpful. TV selections (channels) excellent.
Cons: better pillows. more effort expanded to clean the floors.
Location: Walking distance to wharf (good restaurants), Boardwalk, beach, colorful downtown.
Convenient to wharf, beach, downtown. Fairly new and modern facilities but the floor of my room (not carpeted at my request) was dirty. Pillows were like sacks of cement. Bathroom clean and modern. Door to my room did not close without extra effort--not a problem because I recognized it. Complimentary breakfast was very minimal with inedible fruit and very plain and uninviting rolls. The dining area was sterile. Pool area looked nice but I did not use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Curt, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge. I am so glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay! We value our guests opinions and concerns and like to address problems immediately. Please know, if we are informed of the problem, we will gladly switch you to a room better suited to your needs. Please consider staying with us again when you're next in Santa Cruz! Warmly,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Overall pleasant, I would come back here again. Service is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is guest satisfaction . I think our staff is amazing and it is so gratifying to all of us when we hear we've succeeded with our goal. Please visit us again soon! Warmly,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Near Santa Cruz Pier

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Rooms weren't ready for check-in time, but rest of stay was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Lyn, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review Ocean Pacific Lodge. I am so glad your stay was pleasant and you enjoyed our location. The location is ideal for all types of visitors. Families love the quick walk to the Boardwalk, our seasonally heated pool and our waffle makers! (-: Please stay with us again when you are next in Santa Cruz! Warmly,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Loved our couple of days here. Nice pool and close to the beach and pier
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Naomi, Ocean Pacific Lodge, Hotel Management
Excellent! Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. Our number one priority is guest comfort and satisfaction and we are all gratified when we succeed at that goal! Please stay with us again the next time you are in Santa Cruz! Warmly,