Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Matt

Good hotel in Santa Cruz

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good basic hotel with large rooms and close to town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place in a beautiful town

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice hotel! Only problem is that my room was south-facing and next to a road. Now it was still tolerably warm, but it might be too hot to sleep in during the hottest months of the year. But for the majority of the year (say from October to July) this would be a great hotel to stay in! I definitely recommend! Extra comment on the WiFi. It was better than in 90 % of hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Convenient and clean hotel with parking.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 8 nights and loved the place. Hired a car and was able to park it in their underground car park each night at no extra cost. The apartment was spacious with all facilities and was cleaned 5 times a week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

an uphill walk from the centre of things...

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
hotel has everything you need, rooms very spacious, but lack light or friendliness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired but clean apartment

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the apartments were welcoming and helpful. The apartment was clean and comfortable and reasonably well equipped for a 3 night stay. There was a large terraced area that was shared with the next door apartment but this was a raised area so there was little light in the apartment itself. Unfortunately the terrace overlooked the property next door which was derelict so not the most scenic view. The bedroom had a ceiling fan which was silent and effective in winter but I suspect it would get very hot in summer as there was no air-conditioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a clean spacious and is quite a new modern

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location, spacious, comfortable and clean.
Cons: There is some wear and tear in the corridor outside our room (wall paper peeling off). this creates a poor impression which is otherwise not deserved.
Location: The location provides easy walking distance to shopping, art galleries, historic sites and access to the La Palma trail network.
We needed a one night stay in Santa Cruz to catch a plane the next day and this was ideal. It is close to the historic center of the city as well as the highly interesting back streets. The kitchenette was well equipped and would merit a much longer stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lanzarote

Wonderful Centre to Explore the Island

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
We chose Galeon because it had good reviews and was near the port as we had an early ferry booked to la Gomera. It proved excellent in every way and we would use it again. La Palma is well served with buses and we were glad we had planned to use them as the roads need upgrading. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel and they go all over the island into amazing places we would never have found. The people were very friendly and helpful. The only strage thing was that as we left at 3:30 am for the ferry we were told to leave the key on the desk and the front door would self lock after us. The front door did not self lock so leaving the hotel vulnerable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A good clean hotel with friendly staff

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Very clean & well kept
Cons: A usable email address to inform them of arrival times
Location: A few minutes walk to bus station for frequent buses around the island
Good view over the port with comings & goings of ships. Five minutes walk into town with plenty of shops & bars. Not suitable for anyone who cannot manage hills
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clare from Sheffield, UK

Great location with amazing space.

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel was stylish and seemed very new. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and spoke English. Private car park if needed.
Cons: A few minor additions like a kettle would make it even better though we heated water easily in a pan.
Location: It is just above the town so it is quiet and has lovely views but an easy walk from buses, shops, restaurants. Close to resort beaches of Los Cancajos
We have just returned from a 7 day stay at El Galeon and have no hesitation in recommending it. On the hillside above Santa Cruz. it is an easy and pleasant walk down into the town for buses and other amenities. Our apartment was amazingly spacious with a generous kitchen area with fridge and ceramic hob, a well-furnished lounge containing a TV, comfortable sofa and coffee table. There was a dining table and chairs as well as solid patio furniture which could be taken out onto the patio through the glass doors. The view was stunning and rural and the sea and port could be seen from the corner of the balcony. The bed was very comfortable and there was loads of storage space in the way of drawers and hanging space. The bathroom area had an excellent shower over a sunken bath, large washbasin and separate WC with bidet. Everywhere was spotless and cleaned daily. Reception and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. We loved being able to enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in the attractive dining room. Quiet and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok for stopover

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Great little hotel. The downside is the lack of wifi, and the not-so-great breakfast.