Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HOUSTON

CLOSE TO AIRPORT AND GOOD RESTAURANTS IN PREMISES

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: EASY TO GET TO CLOSE TO OTHER ATTRACTIONS
Cons: DULL LIGHTING
Location: TEMPLES AND BEACH CLOSE BY
MIDNITE BUFFET IS REALLY GOOD CHICKEN AND LOCAL FISH DELICACIES IN RESTAURANT DOWNSTAIRS NICE CAFE AREA FOR COFFEE
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by gmsec, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for taking time out and giving us your valuable feedback. We stand indebted to your words of praise that glorify us as an excellent service provider. Feedback serves as a bedrock for service improvisations and in this regard your views have been shared with my team for making suitable service adjustments. I personally would like to assure you that we will leave no stops in getting the defects rectified. On account of the inconveniences faced we would like to make your next stay with us special and memorable thereby redeeming ourselves of the disservice. We cherish your thoughts as we look forward to welcoming you back at The Orchid Mumbai. Thanking You. Warm Regards, General Manager The Orchid Mumbai
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Service, Good option near Mumbai Airport

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good option close to Mumbai Airport but traffic can be a bit of nightmare, to get in/out of hotel (I know, Mumbai traffic can be bad anyways :)). Hotel staff were very good and provided upgrade as I was with family. Breakfast in the morning was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017
Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for taking time out and giving us your valuable feedback. We stand indebted to your words of praise that glorify us as an excellent service provider. Our nuance in detailing of hospitality meted is vividly expressed in your feedback. We are sure to repeat our performance as we look forward to welcome you back at The Orchid Mumbai. Thanking You. Warm Regards, General Manager The Orchid Mumbai
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxford

An old friend showing its age

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Rooms in old part
Location: Airport location
I stayed their for 2 nights for business. The rooms in the original building are looking a bit tired and are overdue a refurbish. Also the Coffee Shop is very crowded at breakfast after the extension.
3 out of 5
by Rajesh

Regular rants from a regular customer

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We always stay at Orchid because its conveniently located to connect to/from the international travel. However this place has some serious challenges: 1. Check In/Out process is always very tedious and almost insane. None of the front desk people know what they are doing and always require assistance from other co-workers. We stood in the line for 25 min for the check-in and 45 for the check-out. 2. Front desk ambience is unruly - but mostly attributed to indians not respecting rules and other's place in the queue. The hotel must do something about it to keep it first come first serve basis. This is really really pathetic. 3. Service in the restaurant is below par. It always takes long for them to attend you and food is sub-par. 4. Hotel needs to provide a courtesy van to the international airport, but instead they charge 900 rupees per person. Its difficult to get cab for a short distance. This will vastly improve customer satisfaction. 5. They need to significantly improve the decor as its run down. 6. Beds are very uncomfortable. 7. There's a guard at the pool watching you. My wife was not comfortable swimming with him staring at her. 8. The hotel has a hot sauna - this is Mumbai, who needs it? Instead equip your pathetic workout facility. The guard/assistant there also was very intruding and trying to sell services like massage. 9. Wi-Fi is not reliable at all. We put with this place because its convenience but they could really do some work.
5 out of 5
by Saurin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Posted May 10, 2017
I normally don't write reviews, but wanted to say I had a "once in a lifetime" experience this past weekend at The Orchid Hotel. It is the most beautiful, clean, stunning hotel I have ever stayed in. The service in unmatched in every category & superb beyond description. The showers were the cleanest I have ever seen (looked like they were brand new), linens impeccable, beds were the most comfortable & luxurious I had ever slept on in life. Fresh flowers abound in this first class hotel & it is in a league of it's own. I could write for days about this magnificent hotel including how the bathroom has makeup/shaving lighted mirrors, beautiful soaps & lotions on gleaming silver trays and even a make-up towels for ladies. No small detail is overlooked. It was the best hotel experience I had ever had in life --top to bottom in every category. Stellar! Lastly, The Orchid in a fabulous location with restaurants and attractions within walking distance from Air Port. The incredible staff are eager to assist, if needed. My highest recommendation for The Orchidl Hotel over any other hotel ever. I'll definitely return.
5 out of 5
by RAJAT

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
I am a returning customer for Orchid and was quite comfortable
4 out of 5
by Munish

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Real value for money. Room was big and the facilities were quite good. The food however is nothing special. But not bad either. There wifi is also not that great. They allow 2 devices but once you log in those 2 devces, you cant long out and long in a different device. Had to call their IT department to cancel one device so I could log in my laptop.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mumbai

Poor service and very uncooperative staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Booked a non smoked deluxe room,but staff told me they have upgraded me to club room, and the room had cigar smoke air filled in every corner, i got throat infection and ultimately cold due to this typical cigarette smoke smell that the room beared it. You pay 5star price and receive poor service, i got late by 20mins for buffet breakfast that i had booked while buying online deal, and they didn't offer me breakfast bcZ i was late. I asked them to offer me some of the bfast items from booked bfast in my room if not buffet . They didn't even consider that, ultimately i paid for buffet breakfast and i didn't even get to eat it bcz i was late. so ridiculous!! Plus my deluxe room included bath robe which I wasn't provided untill i asked for it, wasn't it suppose to be there in my bathroom already. We were three people and were offered only one bathroom slippers. It's like you got to ask for every single thing that you have already paid for. Overall orchid is an example of good 5star hotel with a poor staff and service , i wish the people in charge of hotel and reading this and take care to upgrade their service bcz people pay best price and recive poorest service at their hotel. The staff think giving a smile and greeting customers is the only meaning of service but isn't making right arrangements for a comfortable stay of customers should be considered a part of service as well. The people in charge should train their staff well.i wouldn't recommend this hotel to any one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Wonderful place and the manager on duty was very helpful and he was able to upgrade us to a suite. Had a wonderful experience