Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
It's an older hotel. You cannot judge on what you think you should get if you are used to staying at a 4-star brand name hotel. People who stay here, stay for the Location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Right across the street from Santa Cruz boardwalk. Parking is very tight fitting. Room was very clean overall except what looked like blood droplet stains in the bathroom mirror and soap dispenser and towel rack.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, California

Hotel in walking distance from the Boardwalk

Posted Dec 14, 2016
My parents and I stayed there for two nights for my thirtieth Birthday. I like the terrace over the pool and the sea life mural. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. One lady from housekeeping was very nice and patient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Decent for the price

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Convenient to the beach and attractions, entertainment. Staff is friendly. Room was adequate, nothing posh, but also not disgusting. Could have used more firm pillows. Continental breakfast could have been improved by a portable starch, like muffins or bagels. Only toast and cereal offered for food. Our bathroom's trash was left from the previous occupant, and was not taken care of until we called a second time for more towels and to remind them about the trash. Courteous and friendly staff, comfortable enough room. Upstairs neighbors (long-term residents, perhaps?) noisey, moving furniture at all hours, but other than that, for the price, it worked. I walked alone, each morning around the area before businesses were open, and I felt totally safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Big mistake booking this place.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Not much to like.
Cons: Every thing.
Location: Location is perfect.
The place is dirty and antiquated. It feels like you are in a 50ths hotel. The presumed continental breakfast consists of bread, cereal coffee and orange juice. The bread is old (same from the days before). Same old breakfast menu every day. The floors are old and they do not sweep or map every day. I am disappointed that Expedia recommended this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madera, CA

Convenient to beach, boardwalk, and wharf

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach and boardwalk.
Cons: Parking and the continental breakfast.
Location: Located across from the boardwalk and beach. The wharf, with good restaurants, is in walking distance.
Loved the convenience of being able to walk to beach, boardwalk and wharf. Hated the parking lot. Spaces too small and are hard to get in and out of. Room was okay, staff was courteous, however, the limited breakfast left a lot to be desired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Everything great except bedbugs

Posted Oct 2, 2016
I would honestly have nothing but good things to say about this place if it weren't for the bedbugs....room was clean, hotel is cool and kitschy and in a great location, staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early, stay parked on the lot after we checked out and even upgraded our room to a suite with a view for free. All of that said, my girlfriend was covered in what were definitely bedbug bites after one night of sleeping here. We told the woman at the desk and she honestly didn't seem too concerned but when we read reviews on the inn afterwards, to see if anyone else had experienced this, it seems like it's a problem that the hotel is refusing to acknowledge....worst part was the fear for the rest of our trip to California that we would be taking the bedbugs home with us in our luggage....I want to leave this place a more positive review but they should be held accountable for such a creepy problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What you would expect

Posted Sep 21, 2016
What you would expect for the money. Nice and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, overall decent choice

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We've stayed here multiple times to drop off/pick up our UCSC student. The hotel is older and has its "charm" but the owners have made some investment in updating the rooms. They are also very pleasant and accommodating. Overall it's pricey for what it is but its competitive to surrounding places, the location is great with a nice view of the boardwalk just across the parking lot, we enjoy hanging out on the patio, and the crowd always seems nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice motel across from the Board Walk

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: It was reasonable priced, staff friendly and helpful, clean and neat rooms, updated bathrooms and flooring in rooms.
Cons: the swimming pool was very clean but it would be better if it was heated more.
Location: The location was perfect, walking distance to the Board Walk, restaurants, grocery store. Short drive to downtown, or nice walk along the river walk.
We enjoyed our stay in Santa Cruz at the Aqua Breeze Inn. The motel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the bedding was new . The room rates are reasonable. Can't beat the location - walk to the Board Walk, beach, restaurants and town too in the other direction. Or it's a short drive to downtown, the manager can supply you with a Santa Cruz map.