Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming place, great location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The staff was really nice and helpful. The wine reception in the afternoon was great and breakfast fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Quiet getaway from SF with nearby walkable options

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Quaint and peaceful place. Fireplace heater is nice for cold nights. Bed comfy. Easy to walk to downtown within 10-15 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice looking but terrible customer service.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Been looking to stay for almost three years as we visit our UCSC student son often. Check in was great. After Thanksgiving dinner with friends came back to find our parking spot taken. Rule is One spot per guest but employee knew one room had taken 2 spaces. He would not tell them to give up one spot. Instead he told us to park on the street. A street marked NO PARKING 12AM-6AM. At 10 30pm we had to find other accommodations in lieu of risking or car being towed. We live 4 hour away! UNBELIEVABLE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and gorgeous facilities

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Enjoyed our stay here. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, staff was friendly, they have a happy hour where you can enjoy wine and hors d'oeuvres. Can't recommend this place enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Wonderful staff and great breakfast and evening wine and snacks. Really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The Babbling Brook is a special place in Santa Cruz. Great atmosphere with excellent service. Breakfast was great and the afternoon appetizers were a treat. The room was cozy and comfortable. Bathroom could be updated a bit but was still clean. We would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Cushy and luxurious!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: I loved the hospitality, the little tasteful touches, the little silly touches (the rubber duckie), and the feeling that I was spoiling myself.
Cons: The Contessa Room's bathroom has issues. The door stuck badly, and the only way to vent the room was to open the vent to the noisy road outside.
Location: Great location! A half mile walk from the Boardwalk, even closer to downtown. I highly recommend the Tie Dye shop downtown to make your own!
My client and I had planned a roadtrip for months, and after reading the reviews of the Babbling Brook, I was willing to share the cost to have a place so nice! I am so glad I did that! Initially, the parking wasn't cramped or exposed. The trip up the stairs was hard for my client, so mobility issues may be a problem for some. But the walk up was so gorgeous! With the water mill, and the shady brook, it was so wonderful. The service was excellent, the host was charming, and helped us with a map to get around. The Contessa room was beautiful. Two pillow-like beds, a fireplace, cozy chairs, the tv playing classical music. My only slight issue was the Contessa Room was right up against Laurel street, and so if the bathroom needed to be vented, the window vents opened right out onto the road, which made for an occasionally noisy night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The best hotel we stayed in during our holiday

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, setting, breakfast, free WiFi, evening drinks and snacks
Cons: For some reason we had some fan noise from the heating overnight - we mentioned it on check out
Location: You can walk to the pier in about 20-30 minutes and same time for downtown. Santa Cruz has a homeless problem sadly but we had no issues.
Warm and friendly welcome; thoughtful touches; fabulous room; lovely setting; easy parking; delicious breakfast - recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The artist retreat

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Our accommodations were very pretty, didn't use the private hot tub but thought it was a plus. The 5pm - 7pm reception was excellent, cheese & veggies, dip, and more. We appreciated the sparkling cider being offered also since we are not wine drinkers. Breakfast was great. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel and grounds. Convenient location,

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Charming hotel and grounds. Convenient location, but quite and secluded. Nice breakfast and great staff.