Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

The best hotel we stayed in during our holiday

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, setting, breakfast, free WiFi, evening drinks and snacks
Cons: For some reason we had some fan noise from the heating overnight - we mentioned it on check out
Location: You can walk to the pier in about 20-30 minutes and same time for downtown. Santa Cruz has a homeless problem sadly but we had no issues.
Warm and friendly welcome; thoughtful touches; fabulous room; lovely setting; easy parking; delicious breakfast - recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The artist retreat

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Our accommodations were very pretty, didn't use the private hot tub but thought it was a plus. The 5pm - 7pm reception was excellent, cheese & veggies, dip, and more. We appreciated the sparkling cider being offered also since we are not wine drinkers. Breakfast was great. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel and grounds. Convenient location,

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Charming hotel and grounds. Convenient location, but quite and secluded. Nice breakfast and great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Loved it, so quaint and cozy. Would be great for couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super nice Inn!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We really liked the Inn but had an issue with toilet our first night there. The staff was very nice and efficient but couldn't fix the issue until the next morning. The plumber arrived the next morning and had the new part replaced within 1 hr. The breakfast was delicious! Overall we enjoyed our stay and will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Nice service

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Nice breakfast, beautiful grounds and friendly helpful staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Cosy and intimate hotel experience

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Staff are very friendly and helpful ... but very respective of guests' privacy
Location: Santa Cruz as a vacation location is a bit tired ... but this hotel is a gem worth a visit
Without any doubt the best hotel in Santa Cruz and one of the best and friendliest small hotels globally for short vacation
5 out of 5
by Paul from Sweden

A romantic stop

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our room (the fern grotto) was great. The bathroom had stained glass windows and a jacuzzi, the bed was exceptionally comfortable, and we were welcomed with a small fireplace and classical music playing. When we arrived at the inn, we were offered freshly baked cookies and then treated to hors d'oeuvres and wine in front of the fireplace. The staff were great and the eggs Benedict for breakfast finished off our stay in style. While we didn't really rate Santa Cruz, the Babbling Brook Inn was fantastic.
3 out of 5
by Theresa from Virginia

Lovely hospitality but a very poor night of sleep

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
This historic rustic bed and breakfast is very welcoming, has a lovely garden and shared living space and generous breakfast and evening reception. Our room (Fern Grotto) however, was barely 2-star. I can't comment on other rooms but ours had significantly settled such that the bathroom door doesn't close and the single pane glass door closest to a busy street had a 1/2 inch gap at the bottom and top so that the garbage truck at 5:15 am woke us. The bed should be retired as it is too soft. When I commented such to the front desk, he replied "yeah, we hear that." The Fern Grotto is immediately under the lobby so every footstep was heard (starting at 6 am)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you're inStant Cruz you must visit here.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
A very special experience awaits the discerning traveller. Great rooms and wonderful service all packaged in a special cosy inn.